Feature Articles on Local Business Owners

The following collected articles were from features on Harrodsburg business men which ran in the Harrodsburg Herald from August 1951 to July 1953.
(*Remember to us control+f on your keyboard to search by business or individual names on this page)
Gem Drug Store Built on Solid Foundation; Is 16 Years Old (Larry Rice)
(First in a series of feature articles on Harrodsburg businessmen.)

Rice Started Store Here in 1935; Has Made Three Major Enlargements It can’t be said that Larry Rice wasn’t cut out for the drug store business. Big, affable Larry knows the drug business from the ground up. He has been in a drug store in some capacity ever since he was knee-high to a druggist’s pestle, and since going into business for himself has seen the store undergo three major enlargements to make room for an expanding business.

Larry Rice started the Gem Drug Store in Harrodsburg on May 30, 1935, and has been operating in the same location ever since. His drug store experience, however, dates back beyond that. A native of Ohio, Larry started his career in the drug business as a soda fountain clerk for the Bay Gem Drug Co., Cincinnati. For the next eight years he was a very busy fellow, working his way from the soda fountain to clerk, assistant manager, store manager, and finally sales promotion and store organization manager, at which job he traveled four states. He has virtually grown up in the business.

Eight years’ experience with the big chain gave Rice a solid foundation, and his business policies of fair dealings has caused his store to prosper. Improvements have consisted of adding floor space, modern fluorescent lighting, interior decorating, and a complete new front. He also owns a Gem Drug store and a Gem Sporting Goods store in Danville. These businesses are managed by his brother, Dean Rice.

A familiar figure in the store in his spotless pharmacist’s jacket is store manager and head pharmacist Walter W. Bauman. Bauman is a graduate of the Cincinnati College of Pharmacy. Harold Sutherland, a recent graduate of the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy, is also in the drug department. Six other employees work in the fountain department, and as clerks. The store features a complete line of drugs and medicines, tobaccos, candies, magazines, cosmetics, a camera department, toiletries, various household appliances, and numerous other items.

“During our last year we have tripled out inventories in the veterinary line,” Rice said this week, adding, “this was necessary to meet the growing needs for livestock remedies, medications, serums, and vaccines.”

Building, Community Development is Aim of Cull Lumber Company (R. L. "Bob" Cull & Horace Cull)
R. L. (Bob) Cull and Horace Cull

During his more than 20 years’ experience in the lumber business in Harrodsburg, R. L. (Bob) Cull has had as much part in building the community as any other person. Both from the standpoint of selling building supplies and an active interest in community development.

The Cull Lumber Company, located on West Factory Street in this city and operated by Cull and his son, Horace Cull, opened for business on March 1, 1946. The business has prospered and one of the reasons for its fine record is the fact that selling building materials is the Cull Lumber Company’s chief business. A major lumber and builder’s hardware dealer, the Cull Lumber Company can supply all kinds of lumber, mill work, doors, roofing, paint, window sash, cement and plaster, and other materials needed to completely build a home or business establishment.

R. L. Cull started in the lumber business back in 1917 with the Lee Smock Company (now Smock-Gibson), and was with that firm until 1937. At that time, he entered politics and was in the county sheriff’s office, either as a deputy or high sheriff, until going into the lumber business for himself. At present he is a member of the City Board of Commissioners.

In 1946 Cull formed a partnership with Lloyd Lay, later purchasing Lay’s interest in the business, and turning the management of the store over to his son, who at that time had just been separated from the U. S. Armed Forces.

Horace Cull is also known as a community builder – for reasons other than his dealing in building materials – he is a member of the Board of Directors of the Mercer County Chamber of Commerce, a member of the Kentucky 35 Highway Association, which is promoting an improved highway through the county, and belongs to various other community organizations.

Arnold’s Florist Observing Anniversary – With Flowers (Arnold C. Logue)
Arnold C. Logue

Arnold C. Logue was in a reflective mood last week – looking backward to three years of business in Harrodsburg.

Logue, owner and operator or Arnold’s Florist, held his formal opening on September 25, 1948, and since that date has been cultivating his business as tenderly as his outdoor cut flowers he grows on a hone-half acre plot just east of town on the Lexington road. Before opening his shop here, he had eight years’ experience in the flower business in Louisville and in Ventura, Calif.

Logue, a native of this county, was graduated from Mackville high school and spent three years in the U. S. Naval Air Corps during World War II. He married Miss Virginia Sue LaGrone of Los Angeles, California. They have two children.

Arnold’s Florist, located at 509 West Office street in the Avalon Inn building, features cut flowers, corsages, potted plants, flowers for weddings, church decorations, funeral sprays, shrubbery, and a line of greeting cards, glassware gifts, and novelty items. Retail sales are also conducted at the Lexington road location.

Harrod Cleaners Abreast of Latest Methods, Techniques (Burt Rowland)
Burt Rowland, owner and operator or Harrod Cleaners, is a firm believer in the adage, “if a business is worth having, it is worth going after.” Burt’s beliefs include much more – he doesn’t think an ill-housed, ill-equipped, ill-supported business can do much for its customers.

Burt Rowland founded Harrod Cleaners on West Broadway in this city in July 1946, shortly after his separation from the U. S. Army. He served two years in the European theatre and was in charge of vast laundry units at various times while in the service. Harrod Cleaners was opened in a new plant, which has been expanded, and just recently $8,000 worth of new dry cleaning and boiler room equipment was installed.

Sincere in the operation of his business, Rowland carries on a continual employee training program. This training is to keep up on the latest techniques of cleaning. Harrod Cleaners is a member of the National Institute of Cleaning and Dyeing, which furnished information on methods of handling and processing new fabrics. Rowland does dry cleaning of men’s and ladies’ garments, leather jackets, men’s hats, and handles fur storage, rug cleaning, and cleaning of household items. There is also a water repellant service for rainwear.

Rowland was born in Nelson County, but moved to Mercer County while very young and attended school at Fairview for several years. Later he moved to Wilmore and after graduation from high school attended college for two years. Before entering the service, he operated dry cleaning plants at Nicholasville and Wilmore. He is married and has two daughters.

The following personnel make up the Harrod Cleaners staff: Mrs. Dorothy Sanders, office; Miss Josephine Jenkins, inspector; Henry Davenport, foreman; Dewey Nichols, route man; David Curtis, Louis Watts, Lawrence Leonard, and colored workers are Mary Ellen Pope, William Parks, and Frances Bess.

Groceryman Runs Tourist Court After Store Hours (William "Bill" Bailey)
William (Bill) Bailey, operator of Bailey’s Super Market on Main Street, has been selling groceries in these parts for a little more than 17 years. He started “clerking” for Frank’s Grocery back in 1934, and now is manager of the store he owns jointly with his father, Mercer County Tax Commissioner Page Bailey. At the end of a long day’s grind at the store, Bailey goes home to operate his Bailey’s Tourist Court on College Street, just opposite Fort Harrod.

Bill and his father opened Bailey’s Super Market in its present location in 1941. Prior to that time, M. G. Claunch operated a store in the same location.

The grocery department of Bailey’s is roomy, modern, and is completely selfservice. It features well-known, dependable brands of foods and fresh vegetables.

Choice meat cuts and dairy products are handled by expertly trained meat department personnel.

Bailey’s Super Market is a member of Kentucky Food Stores, a non-profit organization made up of approximately 100 Central Kentucky stores, which buys food stocks in car load lots (at reduced process) for its members. Bailey said the large purchases enabled members of the organization to pass on great savings to their customers.

Gene Souleyrette, one of the most adept butchers in this section of Kentucky, is in charge of the meat department at Bailey’s. Souleyrette formerly worked at Danville and for a number of years was employed at the frozen food bank in this city.

Others working at Bailey’s are Mrs. Wanda Caton, check-out clerk; Don Caton, delivery; Betty Sinkhorn, clerk; and Thelma Morrissey, clerk. Bill Bailey built his six-unit tourist court in 1947. His wife aids in the operation of the business.

Bailey was born in the Rose Hill section of this county and married the former Miss Ressie Bottom, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. R. C. Bottom.

Wearen-James Drug Co., One of Most Modern in This Area (John H. James, Jr. & George D. Wearen)
John H. James, Jr. & George D. Wearen

An important part of this community is the Wearen-James Drug store at the corner of Main and Lexington streets – the place where there has been a drug store for just about as long as most of us remember.

Co-owners George D. Wearen and John H. James, Jr. acquired the Walgreen Agency outlet in December 1946, and since that time have turned it into one of the most modern drug stores in Kentucky. They have installed an air conditioning system, a new glass front, neon sign, store-length fluorescent lighting, and new equipment.

In addition to the prescription department, which is the store’s chief business, Wearen-James operates a fountain featuring soft drinks, sandwiches and short orders, ice cream, and dairy products. The store carries a complete line of sundries, and has one of Central Kentucky’s most modern cosmetic departments.

For example, this week a representative of Helena Rubinstein, beauty expert, is at the store to give personal advice on makeup and help women customers solve their beauty problems. The owners are also running a big on-cent sale this week, advertised elsewhere in this issue.

At Wearen-James can be found the most famous names of brand lines in candies, toiletries, perfumes, tobacco, cosmetics, stationery, greeting cards, shaving cream and lotion, and picnic supplies. There is also a photo finishing service and a line of veterinary supplies.

A graduate of the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy, Wearen was born at Russellville and had experience with Walgreen stores before moving to Harrodsburg. He served a hitch in the U. S. Navy, is married, and has two daughters.

James was born in Harrodsburg and grew up with his heart “set on being a druggist.” He is a graduate of Harrodsburg high school and was in the Marines in World War II. While serving with the Marines in the Pacific theatre, he visited and inspected many foreign apothecaries in China. He is married and has a daughter.

Store employees are Charles Wade, drug clerk; Bobby Clark, stock clerk; Mrs. Evelyn Isham, Mrs. Betty Wash, and Misses Anita Jones and Doris McCrystal, all fountain clerks.

Strong Liking for Harrodsburg Lands Sauer in Business Here (Carl Sauer, Sr)
Carl Sauer, Sr.

When Carl Sauer was a division manager for the Aetna Oil Company and made frequent visits to this city, because this county was a part of his territory, both he and Mrs. Sauer “took a liking” to Harrodsburg and Mercer County. As a result, he decided to quit the oil business and go into business for himself in this city. On November 1, 1948, he bought the Firestone Store (located on the southwest corner of Main and Lexington streets) from J. B. Harmon and took over the management of the store, operating under the name Sauer Supply Store.

Last September he was joined by his son, Carl Sauer, Jr., who aids in the operation of the business. One other clerk, Edwin Bugg, completes the personnel. Bugg has been with the Firestone store for several years, working for two former owners.

A native of Louisville, Sauer was connected with the oil business in that area for several years. He lived in New Albany, Ind. a number of years and was president of the Lions Club there for two years. He is now president of the Harrodsburg Lions Club, is a Mason, a member of the local chamber of commerce, and the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce.

Bauer Supply Company is the exclusive Firestone distributor in this county and handles a complete line of automotive accessories, bicycles, fishing equipment, and children’s toys. A limited amount of home supplies is also handled. The store features Firestone tires and tubes for passenger cars, trucks, tractors and farm implements. Fishermen can find a wide variety of baits, rods and reels, lines, and other fishing equipment at Sauer Supply Store.

Besides his son who is associated with him in his business, Sauer has a daughter who lives in Evansville, Ind. He and Mrs. Bauer make their home on the Burgin pike.

Chancellor’s Men’s Wear Opened in 1934; Was Modernized in 1946 (Beverly Chancellor)
Like many other young businessmen in this city, Beverly Chancellor’s career as a men’s clothing store operator is divided into two stages – before and after the war. Beverly came to Harrodsburg from Stanford in July, 1934, and opened a men’s store on the west side of Main Street. Nine years later he closed the business to enter the U. S. Army. He served with the armed forces in Europe during World War II until wounded in November, 1944. Following three months’ hospitalization in England, he returned to this country and received his discharge in June, 1945.

After his release from the service, Chancellor returned to Harrodsburg and in October 1946 opened a modern haberdashery in a new Main Street location, where he is presently dispensing everything from suits to sox in men’s wear. Not only has his business here expanded, but a new Chancellor’s Men’s Wear was opened in Lancaster in July, 1950.

The dapper store owner started with a very small store, and has built his business to its present-day size by featuring nationally known brands found only in the nation’s better clothing stores. He handles a full line of clothing for me, including such accessories as belts, jewelry, and fine billfolds. He says his policy is to sell good merchandise at reasonable prices.

Chancellor’s experience in selling men’s clothing is a history of his life’s work. As a boy, he worked in a men’s wear store in Stanford. He is a native of Lincoln County, was graduated from Stanford High School, and attended Centre College at Danville. He is married, a member of the local Rotary Club and a past president of the organization, member of the American Legion and VFW, and a member of the Methodist church.

William A. Terhune, this city, a graduate of Harrodsburg high school, is the only permanent clerk at Chancellor’s. During busy seasons local help is hired on a part-time basis. Terhune served in the Army Air Force in World War II.

Modern Food Market Opens Today (O. W. McMurtry, Mrs. O. W. McMurtry, Maurice Reed)
O. W. McMurtry, Mrs. O. W. McMurtry, Maurice Reed

Grand opening of the Modern Food Market, a new self-service grocery store located on the south side of the Mercer County Frozen Food Bank, is being held today and tomorrow, it has been announced by Mr. and Mrs. O. W. McMurtry, owners. The McMurtrys are operating the store in connection with their locker plant.

Maurice Reed, who owned and operated Reed’s Grocery in this city for a number of years, will be in charge of the new McMurtry enterprise.

Space housing the Modern Food Market has been completely overhauled and redecorated, making it one of the most modern food stores in this area. A complete new stock of groceries has been placed on shelves, and sufficient personnel has been employed to assure prompt, efficient service, McMurtry said.

All equipment in the grocery department is new. Vegetables, fruits, and dairy products will be displayed in refrigerated cases. Shelving is all-steel material with aluminum crown molding. New asphalt tile flooring has been laid and slim-tube fluorescent lighting installed by the Workshop.

The meat department, managed by James Ray Landers and Maurice Reed, will remain in its present location on the north side of the room. Shelves in the grocery department will feature baby foods and imported party foods (unsweetened fruit and unsalted vegetables prepared for people who are on strict diets.) “By opening a grocery and home supply department,” McMurtry said, “we are now able to give our locker customers a one-stop service.”

Leonard Goodpaster will be in charge of delivery service, and Mrs. Audrey Hensley has been employed as cashier. Other personnel are: Jewell Goodpaster, locker attendant; Henry Logue, curing and lard rendering; Mrs. Herbert Warner, book-keeping; and Glover Hayes, colored, chicken dressing department. Complete details of the opening are advertised elsewhere in this issue of the Herald.

Paul Shewmaker Impl. Co. Has Been Serving Community 13 Years (Paul Shewmaker)
Once a farmer himself, Paul Shewmaker is thoroughly familiar with the problems, needs, wants and desires of farm families in this trading area. Although certain departments of the Paul Shewmaker Implement Company deal with patrons who are not necessarily farmers, the chief business of the firm is the handling of heavy farming implements, motor trucks, and tillage tools.

Born in the Cornishville section of this county, Paul Shewmaker was engaged in farming until moving to this city 13 years ago to take over an interest in the International Harvester dealership. Today he is Mercer County’s exclusive I-H dealer, and since that time has acquired the agency for selling both New Idea and New Holland machinery. Shewmaker handles all items manufactured by these companies (that are used in this section of the country), including the I-H tractor, motor truck, and automatic pickup baler. New Idea products featured at Paul Shewmaker Impl. Co. are spreaders, tobacco setters, rakes, and corn pickers. The chief product he handles for the New Holland agency is the automatic pickup baler.

One of the big operations at Shewmaker’s firm is the handling of parts. A complete line of parts for all machines sold by his company are available at all times. He also operates the only complete machine shop in Harrodsburg, doing welding, lather work, and all kinds of work in iron and steel. A service department is maintained to provide truck and tractor motors repair and to replace and repair parts of disabled farm machinery.

Shewmaker has made two major building expansions at his East Office Street location since 1938.

The personnel roster at Paul Shewmaker Impl. Co. is as follows: Howard Gritton, in charge of machine shop; Hurley Lester, service department foreman; Ernest Devine, mechanic; Curtis Sherrow and Ed Phillips, service men on equipment; Donald Davenport, salesman; Sherman Hogue, parts man; and Jack Finnell, bookkeeper.

Edwards Insurance Agency Dates Back to Year 1896 (George Edwards & John Sullivan)
One of the oldest businesses in Harrodsburg is the Edwards Insurance Agency, operated by George Edwards and John Sullivan. Although not always known by its present name, the firm has represented such well-known insurance companies as the Aetna Insurance Co., the American of New Jersey, the Westchester Fire Insurance Co., and the Security Insurance Co., for as far back as 1896.

Founders of the agency were L. C. and William Riker. In 1914, A. M. Wash bought out the Rikers and a short time later was joined by George W. Edwards, grandfather of the present owner. In 1920, J. D. Edwards took over his father’s interest and five years later purchased the entire agency, operating it as the Edwards Ins. Agency until his death in 1946. His wife, Mrs. Frances Edwards, was also active in the business up until that time. She still has an interest in the agency.

At his father’s death, George took over the business and in May, 1950, John Sullivan became his partner. When Sullivan acquired an interest, activities were expanded into the real estate field and the Edwards & Sullivan Real Estate Agency came into existence. Complete real estate transactions, both public auctions and private sales, are now handled as well as insurance. Sullivan, a graduate of the Reppert School of Auctioneering, Decatur, Ind., cries the sales for the firm. The two young businessmen, both natives of this city and graduates of the Harrodsburg high school, handle health and accident insurance, fire insurance, automobile, public liability, workmen’s compensation, and other types for a number of reliable companies.

Edwards received his A.B. degree from the University of Kentucky, College of Arts and Sciences, and served in the U. S. Navy during World War II. Sullivan was graduated from Centre College with an A.B. degree, and was in the Army during the war. Following his separation from the service, he operated a fishing equipment store at Albany, Ky. For several months. He is married and has one child.

Both men are active in civic work in the community.

Rue & Sharp Hardware Features Pleasing Service, Fine Mdse. (Edwin "Skip" Rue & Lincoln V. Sharp)
An attractively displayed stock of modern goods, popular name brands, prompt and efficient service, and a desire to please customers – that’s what you run into at the Rue & Sharp Hardware Store on Main Street. But don’t let that hardware part of the moniker throw you if you are looking for a pressure cooker, a child’s toy, or an electric clock. Besides their line of hardware and paints, Rue and Sharp handle household items, kitchen utensils, sporting goods, dairy equipment, toys, garden seed, slower seed, and various other items.

The hardware line includes tools, nails, nuts and bolts, hinges, power mowers, paints and varnishes, and chemicals for plant bed use. Rue & Sharp are dealers for the Monarch Range Company, and have on display gas, electric, and coal-burning cooking ranges. They handle the Temco gas floor furnace, Perfection oil heaters, and Shirley plumbing equipment.

This year’s inventory of children’s toys is going to be one of the largest in the history of the store, the owners have announced.

Senior partner in the firm is Edwin (Skip) Rue, who bought half-interest in the store in November, 1946, with Col. George M. Chinn. Lincoln V. Sharp purchased Chinn’s interest in October, 1947. Prior to [that], this business was operated for many years by the Adams Bros. and was formerly known as Adams Bros. Hardware Store.

Rue, a native of this city, graduated from Harrodsburg high school and attended the University of Kentucky. He served in the U. S. Army during World War II, and was a Japanese prisoner of war for three years and five months. Rue is married and has two daughters.

Sharp, who grew up in Boyle County, has lived in Central Kentucky all his life. He graduated from Danville high school and before coming to this city was employed as bookkeeper for Standard Oil Company, Danville. He was in the army during the war and served in Europe. He is now commanding officer of the local National Guard unit. Sharp is married and has two daughters.

Glover Lyons is employed as clerk. He has been with the store for six years, having worked for James Adams before the present owners took over.

Stagg Drug Store is Second Oldest in State of Kentucky (James H. Stagg)
The Stagg Drug Store in this city is the second oldest pharmacy now doing business in the state of Kentucky. It was founded in May, 1854, according to owner James H. Stagg, who has been associated with the store in various capacities since 1912.

“There are other drug store owners in the state who claim that their place of business is as old as my store,” Stagg said, “but actually, they have not been giving the general public continuous service since 1854.”

The 97-year-old firm was founded by Dedman & Stagg (Stagg being a distant relative of the present owner’s father), and was later operated by Charles M. Dedman & Son. Stagg acquired the business at the time of the retirement of T. Curry Dedman. He has served the community as a dispenser of medicines and drugs from the same Main Street location for 39 years.

The main object of the Stagg Drug Store is to maintain and ethical practice of pharmacy. The store is gradually reducing the handling of sidelines which have no connection with the drug business Records show that almost 500,000 prescriptions have been filled during the store’s existence.

A complete line of Rexall sundries and medical supplies, hospital supplies, first aid medicines, livestock medicines, and veterinary vaccines are found on the neatly arranges shelves of the Stagg Drug Store.

Stagg was born in this city, is married, and has one daughter. He began his career as clerk in the store he now owns, working after school hours and on Saturdays as an apprentice drug clerk. He graduated from Harrodsburg high school and completed his pharmacy course at Max Morris School of Pharmacy at Macon, Georgia.

He volunteered for duty in the U. S. Army Medical Corps during World War I, and passed the army pharmacy examination at Ft. Sheridan, Ill. For two years he served with the First Division in the advanced section of Northeast France, becoming a Master Hospital Sergeant. After the war, he returned to work with Dedman & Son, serving as assistant manager, then manager and full registered pharmacist.

Stagg is a member of the Presbyterian church, is a Mason, and belongs to the VFW, American Legion, and DAV.

Four people assist him in the operation of his store. They are H. F. Edgerton, clerk; Mrs. Violet Keller Profitt, clerk; Mrs. Robert C. Noel, bookkeeper; and Donald James, apprentice clerk.

Coakley Insurance Agency is One-Man Operated Business (J. W. Coakley)
Sole owner of the Coakley Insurance Agency is J. W. Coakley, founder of the firm and a man who has, in less than 13 years, built his business into one of the largest one-man operated insurance agencies in this section.

Coakley came to this city in March, 1939, and went into the insurance and real estate business, His insurance sales increased to the point where he decided to drop his real estate dealings and devote full-time to insurance. He has been at his present location on West Poplar street for 12 years.

Coakley Insurance Agency sells many types of insurance dealing mainly with policies covering fire, liability, workman’s compensation, burglary, and automobile. Companies represented are: State Automobile Mutual, Fidelity Phoenix, Northern New York, Fireman’s, and Mutual Fire Insurance Agency.

J. W. Coakley was born at Campbellsville and attended elementary school there. He graduated from Kentucky Military Institute, Anchorage, and while in school there was a member of the KMI school band and played in the school orchestra. After leaving KMI he took a job with Kentucky Central Life and Accident Insurance Company and worked in the Louisville area.

He decided to go into business for himself and selected Harrodsburg as the town he would like to call home.

A member of the National Association of Mutual Insurance Agents, Coakley was recently elected a director in the Kentucky Association of Mutual Insurance Agents. He is married, has three children, is a member of the Baptist church, and is interested in youth work and scouting. He is vice-chairman of the James Harrod District, Boy Scouts of America.

During World War II, Coakley served two years in the U. S. Army. His wife conducted the affairs of the Coakley Insurance Agency during his absence. Miss Peggy Dean, this city, is secretary at the Coakley agency.

Freeman & Ison Men’s Shop is Typical Haberdashery (Marshall "Jug" Freeman and James "Buck" Ison)
The men’s store on Main Street operated by Marshall (Jug) Freeman and James (Buck) Ison is typical of shops where nothing is sold by men’s furnishings. Typical in the sense that it isn’t “small-townish” and handles only a few cheap items, yet, on the other hand, it does not cater to a select “high class” group. It is a typical haberdashery because customers get quick and courteous service, have a wide selection of items from which to choose, and are assured of a feeling of satisfaction that comes from the store’s reputation of handling dependable, wellknown brands.

Freeman & Ison carry such leading brands as Dobb’s hats, Timely suits, Arrow shirts, Bostonian shoes, Cooper’s underwear and socks, Enro sport shirts and pajamas, Higgins slacks, and Lee work clothes. Accessories handled include Paris belts, Swank billfolds and jewelry, ties and handkerchiefs.

Men’s clothing has been sold at the Freeman & Ison location for the past halfcentury. Freeman was sole owner of the business for a short while, purchasing it from his brother Edwin Freeman in 1943, but selling to another brother, R. C. Freeman, the following year. In April, 1945, he and Ison bought the business from R. C. Freeman and have operated it under the Freeman & Ison firm name since that date.

James (Buck) Ison was born in this city and graduated from Harrodsburg high school. He completed a business course at Perry Business School and held positions with the local AAA office and the H. T. Soaper Tobacco Company before going into the men’s clothing business. Ison is a member of the Christian church, a past president of the local Lions club, past master of Mercer Lodge 777, and is married and has one daughter.

Marshall (Jug) Freeman is also a native of this city and attended the local schools. For a while he owned and operated the White Way Tavern, and later owned an interest in the Tupelo Stockyards at Tupelo, Mississippi. He is a member of the local Baptist church, a Mason, and is married. Freeman owns two show horses and during the sow season is seen on most of the Kentucky tracks. Buddy Terhune is the store’s only employee.

Meat Expert, Veteran Grocer Operates Eddie’s Food Market (Eddie Bellebaum)
Eddie Bellebaum, transplanted to Kentucky from West Virginia at a very early age, is the owner and operator of Eddie’s Food Market on West Lexington Street. Eddie says he can’t remember ever living anywhere except in Kentucky and feels as much like calling himself a native of the Blue Grass state as he feels like selling a pound of hamburger. Bellebaum came to Mercer County from Livingston, Ky. at the age of eight, attended school at Burgin, and learned to meet the public by working in his father’s drug store at Burgin after school hours and on weekends. Later he started his grocery-selling career by working as an extra at the A & P Store in this city, and after graduation from Harrodsburg high school, became a full-time employee at that store. He held positions with the A & P at Frankfort, Lexington, Danville, and Bardstown, being manager of the Danville store for eighteen months. He has also worked for independent grocery stores and meat markets at Danville.

After four years with the U. S. Army Signal Corps, part of that time spent in the European Theatre of War, Bellebaum returned home with the idea in mind of going into business for himself. It was August, 1950, when he purchased the store he now operates.

Eddie’s Food Market handles a complete line of groceries and specializes in meats. Eddie himself – long-experienced and expertly trained in the meat business – does all the cutting, grinding, preparing, and selling in that department. The store sells frozen foods, fresh and canned vegetables and fruits, candies, tobaccos, and many household items.

Eddie has three regular employees. They are Mrs. Joe Young, clerk; Herman Young, clerk, who replaces Maurice Mayes (inducted into the Army last month); and Fred Smith.

Eddie Bellebaum, a member of the Christian church, is married to the former Miss Louise Balden, of this county. They have one son.

Milady Beauty Shop Owner Began Fixing Hair at Early Age (Lottie B. Demaree)
Mrs. Lottie B. Demaree, owner and operator of Milady Beauty Shop, has been fixing hair ever since she was “knee-high to a comb and brush.” She says she can remember fixing the hair of a school teacher who used to board at her home and she had to tip-toe to get the job done.

Mrs. Demaree, a native of this county, has been operating Milady Beauty Shop, located upstairs in the Lincoln Store, since December, 1945. She purchased the shop from Mrs. Mamie Houchens Green, who operated it for a number of years at a location on Poplar street. It is one of the oldest beauty parlors in this city, and was originally the Dorothy Dean Beauty Shop.

Milady Beauty Shop dives Helene Curtis permanent waves, manicures, facials, does hair styling, hair cutting, and specializes in dandruff treatment. A complete line of Revlon cosmetics is used and sold. Mrs. Elizabeth Sharp Selleck and Miss Doris Britton, both experiences beauty operators, aid in the operation of the business. Mrs. Demaree and her personnel recently attended a hair styling show held in Lexington, in order to keep abreast of the latest hair fashions and methods.

Mrs. Demaree graduated from Fairview high school and is a graduate of Crutcher Beauty School, Lexington. She was employed at a Danville beauty shop for five years, and worked for Mrs. Green in this city before purchasing the shop from her. She was not engaged in beauty parlor work for one year during her husband’s (Hollie Demaree) service in the armed forces. Mr. and Mrs. Demaree have one son, Glendon.

Mrs. Demaree is an active member of the Baptist church and the local Eastern Star chapter.

Roy Sutherland Operated Family Shoe Store; Dry Cleaning Agency (Roy Sutherland)
Despite tall tales told outside the borders of Kentucky about inhabitants of this state plodding around in their bare feet, the wearing of shoes is prominent in Mercer County – and equally as prominent in Sutherland’s Shoe Store. It is one of the necessary business establishments of the community.

Sutherland’s Shoe Store is a family shoe store. Men’s, women’s, and children’s shoes, overshoes, boots and galoshes of all sizes are stocked. Such nationally-known brands as Poll-Parrot, Star Brand, Miracle Tread ladies dress shoe, and Jumpin’-Jack Shoes for children are sold. Sutherland’s also handles sox, ladies’ hose, and a complete line of hosiery for children.

Roy Sutherland, owner and operator of this county’s only store devoted exclusively to the selling of footwear, also operates a dry-cleaning business. Since 1947 he has been the local agent for the Danville Laundry and Dry-Cleaning Company, operating a pick-up and delivery service. His store serves as headquarters for the dry-cleaning operations.

Roy Sutherland was born in this county, graduated from Harrodsburg high school, and attended college at Kentucky Wesleyan. He played football on the regular teams of both schools. After college, he went to work for Phillips & Phillips Clothing Store in this city and soon became store manager. When the store changed ownership, he continued to work with the new owner until May, 1940, at which time he purchased the Outlet Company from A. Patterson and converted it into a shoe store.

Mrs. Sutherland helps her husband in the operation of the store, and Mrs. James Demaree is employed as clerk.

Roy Sutherland is a member of the Presbyterian church and serves on the board of deacons. He is a past president of the local Lions Club, a Mason, and a Shriner. The Sutherlands have two sons, Johnny and Tommy.

Harrodsburg Dairy Produces Some of Purest, Safest Milk in Kentucky (E. C. Stephenson)
E. C. Stephenson, owner and operator of the Harrodsburg Dairy, is a man who has always believed that no firm can hope to be a success unless it provides a needed service. The extent to which he has succeeded is evidenced by the many people who patronize his business.

The Harrodsburg Dairy has been rated by the State Health Department as one of the most modern in the state of Kentucky, and was the chief factor in this city being named (along with Bowling Green) as having the best, safest milk supply of any city in Kentucky during 1946. Since that time, the Harrodsburg Dairy has maintained the same high standard of producing quality milk.

Evidence of the Harrodsburg Dairy’s quality of milk is a citation from the U. S. Army Surgeon General of the Fifth Corps Area stating that milk from the dairy received at Darnall Hospital, during the time it was operated by the army, was the best milk delivered to any army unit in the entire corps area. Stephenson stated this week that he has periodic tests run on his milk, and the results are available to anyone desiring to inspect the records.

The Harrodsburg Dairy produces and delivers pasteurized milk, homogenized milk, cottage cheese, buttermilk, and cream. An ice cream mix is also made at the plant, located on Chestnut, but is shipped to an outside ice cream company. All milk purchased by Stephenson is produced by Mercer County farmers and delivered to the plant daily. The plant is properly equipped, and its owner has the necessary training and skill to make him a leader in his particular field of endeavor.

Stephenson sounded the Harrodsburg Dairy in March, 1941. At that time, he could find only two farmers in this county who produced Grade A milk, forcing him to buy from seven different counties. He took the raw milk to Lexington and had it pasteurized until he leased a plant at Bryantsville where he did his own processing until his plant in this city was completed in April, 1945. There are now more than 30 Grade A milk producers in the county, Stephenson stated.

Before the Harrodsburg Dairy was established, the only source of milk supply for this city was a small supply of raw milk delivered by a few farmers.

E. C. Stephenson and his bride came to Kentucky from North Carolina in 1931. For ten years, he worked for Kelly Dairies at Lexington and took a course in dairying at the University of Kentucky during that time. Stephenson is a Mason and a member of the Presbyterian church. He has a daughter.

Those working at the model dairy establishment are: Harold Gritton, plant manager; Charles Cowan, machinery maintenance man and general operations;21 Neff Clark, salesman and delivery; Morgan Wheeler, salesman and delivery; and Neil Bottoms, general plant man. Mrs. Stephenson does the bookkeeping for the firm and Mrs. Edith Harmon is assistant bookkeeper.

Harrod Fashion Shop Supplier of Smart, Feminine Clothes (Mrs. Mattie K. James & Mrs. Onita B. Tevis)
It is every woman’s desire to look her best under all circumstances, and the Harrod Fashion Shop is qualified to supply proper clothes, to give all those touches of feminine attractiveness. Women shoppers in Mercer and surrounding counties have for some years been buying from this dependable firm.

Mrs. Mattie K. James and Mrs. Onita B. Tevis, owners and operators of Harrod Fashion Shop, founded the business in November, 1939, and for the last 12 years have handled the entire operation, including trips to Chicago and New York to buy their stock of ladies’ wear. Such well-known brands as Donnybrook and Briny Marlin coats and suits, Belle-Sharmeer and Clausner hosiery, and Gossard foundation garments are handled. Other name brands are also sold at the store, and other items on display include dresses, lingerie, purses, gloves, and costume jewelry.

Clerks at Harrod Fashion Shop are Mrs. John Mattingly, Mrs. Lucian Brewer, and Mrs. William Dean.

Mrs. James is a native of Washington County. She is the former Miss Mattie Keightley, and lived at Springfield and Mackville before moving here. She is a graduate of Salvisa high school and attended Bourbon College at Paris, and Eastern State Normal at Richmond.

Mrs. James has had long experience in the ladies’ wear business. Before forming a partnership with Mrs. Tevis, she worked for the Holman & Hawkins department store as bookkeeper and was later employed by the Sommers department store. She is a member of the Baptist church, and has one sone, John H. James, Jr.

Mrs. Tevis, the former Miss Onita Burton, was born in the Bohon community of this county and attended Harrodsburg high school. She taught music for a while before taking a position with the Sommers store in business here at that time, where she worked for nine years. For four years she was a partner in the Board & Burton Ladies’ Shop, before forming the partnership with Mrs. James. Mrs. Tevis is a member of the Church of Christ.

Clark-Hood One of Top Exclusive Oldsmobile Dealers in Kentucky (Marshall Clark & Buford Hood)
The Clark-Hood Motor Company of this city is the sixth largest exclusive Oldsmobile agency in the state. Marshall Clark and Buford Hood, owners and operators of the business, explained that several Oldsmobile agencies in Kentucky do a bigger business but handle other makes of cars in addition to Oldsmobile.

Clark-Hood Motor Company first opened for business in September, 1946, as an auto and appliance business. The Oldsmobile agency was added in January, 1948 and the appliance business was dropped, except for the handling of custom floor covering, which is now sold in connection with floor work done by Hood.

Enjoying a thriving business, two additions have been added to the original building occupied by Clark-Hood, totaling nearly 10,000 square feet of floor space. The modern building is equipped with every mechanical convenience and their men are expert mechanics who thoroughly understand the auto repair business.

These Oldsmobile dealers handle a complete line of Oldsmobile auto parts., Firestone tires and tubes, Willard and Auto-Lite batteries, and automobile accessories. The service department features a paint and body shop, washing and lubrication service, all kinds of mechanical work, and the latest type front-end alignment service.

The Clark-Hood Used Car Lot on West Lexington street offers a wide selection of quality used cars. Tom Alasbrook is manager of the used car lot.

Other personnel are: Carl Young, parts and service manager; Mrs. James C. Zachary, bookkeeper; James Woods, Marvin Lester, and James Webb, mechanics; Ernest and Marshall Yeast, paint and body department; Carl Robinson, lubrication; Shirley Yeast, washing and polishing, making a total of 10 employees.

Marshall Clark was born in Washington County, graduated from Mackville high school, and attended the University of Kentucky. He spent approximately four years in the U. S. Army Air Corps, and has had a lifelong experience in merchandising and selling. He married the former Miss LaTona Wright of Mackville, and they have one daughter, Karen. Clark is a member of the Christian church, the Lions Club, and is a Mason.

Buford Hood is a Mercer County native, graduate of Rose Hill high school, and is married to a Mercer Countian, the former Miss Pauline Buchanan. He attended Campbellsville Junior College and served in the Pacific Theatre of war during World War II with the Navy Seabees. Before going into the automobile business, he worked as a butcher at Frank’s Store, and worked in DeKalb, Ill. for a24 number of years. He has two sons, Freddie and Jackie, is a member of the Baptist church and the Kiwanis Club.

Model Laundry & Dry-Cleaning Co., Has 24 Employees on Payroll (J. Irvin Huddleston)

There are always firms in every community which stand out prominently because of their superior service. One such business in this city is the Model Laundry and Dry-Cleaning Company, owned and operated by J. Irvin Huddleston.

The Model Laundry & Dry-Cleaning Company is an old and tried institution of this section. It was founded by the late B. F. Pollard, from whom Huddleston purchased the business in May, 1943. Since taking over, Huddleston has put in new dry-cleaning equipment and practically all the laundry equipment is new. At present, the interior of the plant is being repainted and improved.

All types of laundry and dry-cleaning service is performed, and free pickup and delivery is provided. The firm is a member of the Kentucky Laundry & DryCleaning Association, and Huddleston is on the board of directors of that organization.

J. Irvin Huddleston was born at Marrowbone in Cumberland County and graduated from the Marrowbone high school. He received his A.B. degree from Centre College, and his M.A. degree from the University of Kentucky. He taught at Marrowbone high school, was principal of Rose Hill high school for one year, and served as superintendent of the Burgin school system for six years. He also coached basketball and football for two years while with the Burgin schools.

Huddleston is a member of the Methodist church and belongs to the Rotary Club. He is married to the former Miss Lucille Gabhart, this city, and has two sons and two daughters.

The Model Laundry & Dry-Cleaning Company has one of the community’s leading payrolls. A total of 24 persons are employed full time. Bookkeeper for the firm is Mrs. Lewis Woods, Sr. Mrs. Robert Gilliland is office clerk, and J. H. Helm is engineer.

Maurice Peavler is plant superintendent, and other employees are John Mayes, Bradley Smith, McKinley Anness, Jr., Mrs. Bertha Coovert, Ed Perkins, Jr., Mrs. Nannie Lee Grigsby, Mrs. Janie Pinkston, Mrs. Gertrude Freeman, Miss Rose Yocum, Mrs. Jack Wilson, Miss Elsie Sallee, Mrs. Thelma Rogers, Mrs. Ed Perkins, Miss Nellie Pelly, Mrs. Laura Johnson, Mrs. Katie Hendren, Mrs. Myrtle Freeman, Rosa Lee Sigar, Ethyl Rankin, and Windrell Hunn.

LaMae Beauty Shop Owner Started as Operator in Shop (Miss Zelma Brown)Title

Good grooming – that has been the business of Miss Zelma Brown, owner and operator of the LaMae Beauty Shop ever since graduation from the Shelbyville Beauty School, Shelbyville, a few years ago.

After her training at beauty school, Miss Brown came to Harrodsburg and worked at the LaMae for Mrs. George W. Durr, who owned the shop at that time. In August, 1947, she purchased the shop from Mrs. Durr.

Located at the State Bank & Trust Company building, the LaMae Beauty Shop is well equipped to give the best in its line of service. Both Miss Brown and her lone operator, Mrs. Maxine Parker, are expert beauty culturists – skilled in giving all the finishing touches of the most up-to-date beauty service.

The LaMae Beauty Shop specializes in all types of beauty work and carries a line of Revlon cosmetics. Services performed include permanent waving, facials, manicures, and hair styling.

Miss Brown is a native of Washington County. She graduated from Chaplin high school in Nelson County and attended Western Kentucky State Teachers College at Bowling Green. For five years, she taught in the elementary grades at Maud Consolidated School in Washington County. She was employed at the LaMae as an operator for five years before purchasing the business.

Miss Brown is a member of the Harrodsburg Baptist church.

Noel’s Clothes Shop Has Built Reputation for Dependability (Charlie Noel, Sr. & Charles Noel, Jr.)
Noel’s Clothes Shop, located on South Main at Poplar, is the oldest men’s clothing store in Harrodsburg. Now operated by Charlie Noel, Sr. and his only son, Charles Noel, Jr., the business was founded by Arthur Bonta and the elder Noel in 1933.

Efficient and courteous service, plus well-known brand names, are the chief factors which have built the store’s enviable reputation for dependability. MichaelsStern suits, Arrow shirts, Stetson and Lee hats, Nunn-Bush and Freeman shoes, Interwoven sox, Botany slacks, McGregor sportswear, and a line of Hickok accessories are some of the items handled. Both father and son are active in the operation and management of the business, and Jack Woods is employed as clerk.

Charlie Noel, Sr. was born in this county, and after finishing local schools, attended Eastern State Teachers College, Richmond, and Georgetown College at Georgetown. He served overseas with the U. S. Army during World War I. After the war, he married the former Miss Mollye Whitenack, also of this county, and for seven years operated a general store at Talmage. In late 1929 he went to Stanford and was associated with the Noble department store there for two years. He returned to this city and before forming the partnership with Arthur Bonta, he and Bonta were employed for one year in a men’s clothing store owned by Frank Phillips. The Bonta and Noel Partnership ceased in 1942 when Noel purchased Bonta’s interest. Noel is a member of the Mercer County Fish and Game Conservation Club and is deeply interested in promoting the activities of the organization. He is a member of the Christian church.

Charles Noel, Jr., who was also born in the county, married a Lexington girl. His wife is the former Miss Mary Boone Dickson. Charles graduated from Harrodsburg high school and attended Centre College before entering the army in World War II. He served in the Pacific theatre of operations, and after separation from the service attended the University of Kentucky. He became a partner in his father’s business in March, 1947. He is president of the Harrodsburg Junior Chamber of Commerce, is active in community and civic work, and belongs to the Christian church.

Norfleet Hardware Co. Stems from Business Formed 73 Years Ago (B.F. Norfleet)
B. F. Norfleet, owner and operator of the Norfleet Hardware & Implement Company located on East Office Street, is one of the oldest business men in Harrodsburg – both from the standpoint of age and the number of years he has been active in business.

B. F. Norfleet was born in Illinois, but adopted Kentucky as his home when he was a very young man. He graduated from Southern Illinois University and attended medical school at the old College of Physicians and Surgeons in St. Louis, Mo.

Norfleet came to Kentucky in 1904 as field representative for Quincy Business College and later helped organize the Kentucky Correspondence School. In 1908 he became associated with a farm implement concern in Lexington and was employed there until coming to this city in 1914 to manage the Martin Garage & Implement Company, which had purchased the retail business of the George Bohon Company.

In 1915, there were some changes in the Martin ownership, and Norfleet purchased a one-half interest in the implement business with Judge J. W. Davenport. They called their firm the Harrodsburg Implement Company, and added Chevrolet automobiles to their line of merchandise. For convenience in operation, the business was divided into two corporations in 1925, the Harrodsburg Motor Company and the Harrodsburg Hardware & Implement Company, with Norfleet as president of both corporations. A disastrous fire in December, 1934 practically wiped out both corporations. In 1936, Norfleet reorganized the hardware and implement company under his own name and continues to operate it.

During his 38 years in this community, Norfleet has had various interests outside his private business operations. He served eight years on the Board of City Commissioners, being on a special committee during the construction of the present water works system, and the changeover from the municipally owned light system to the present Kentucky Utilities service. He served as president of the Mercer Board of Trade for 12 years, also the Mercer Industrial Corporation, which brought Sportleigh Hall to Harrodsburg.

During World War II, Norfleet served as chairman of the local Selective Service Board, and during that period served four years in the Kentucky Active State Militia.

A flood of honors has been bestowed upon Norfleet by the Kentucky Retail Hardware Association. He has served three years as a director of the association,29 one year as 2nd vice-president, one year as 1st vice-president, and one year as president of the organization. He is now serving his third year on the advisory board of directors and is president of the association’s 25-Year Club.

B. F. Norfleet is known as a man who is intensely interested in the social and civic affairs of his community, and for taking pride in the continuance of a business that has been in operation, under various ownerships and reorganizations, for the last 73 years.

Arch Woods Operates Store from Motor-Propelled Wheel Chair (Arch T. Woods)
Arch T. Woods, sole owner and operator of The Big Store, suffered a paralytic stroke back in 1944 that put him in a wheel chair, but he continues to supervise the operation of the business he founded over twenty years ago. Just recently he had a motor rigged up on his chair and now goes about his wide-aisled store without having to be pushed. The “motor” is an automobile starter and moves the chair only while the starter button is being pressed. Woods said he didn’t know of any other wheel chair equipped in this manner.

Although housed in one of the oldest buildings in the city, The Big Store offers a line of completely modern merchandise. Woods is an exclusive dealer for Massey-Harris farming implements, and among other things, handles Moore’s paints and varnishes, home appliances, fertilizer, and a regular line of hardware.

Arch Woods was born in this county and married a Mercer countian, the former Bertha Davis Noland. He graduated from McAfee high school and completed a business course at Bryant-Stratton Business College, Louisville. Woods first worked in The Big Store as a clerk when it was owned by Ensminger & Sullivan.

In 1923 he moved to Louisville and worked for the Louisville Refrigerator Company until 1931. At that time, he returned to this city and after working a few months for the W. W. Jones Mercer Hardware, purchased the business and renamed it The Big Store. Before the days of automobiles and in the early 1900s, the building now occupied by Woods was one of the largest livery stables in the South and was known as The Big Stable. Its owners operated a hardware business (The Big Store) in another location.

Mrs. Nancy Hatfield, a daughter of The Big Store owner, and her husband, William Hatfield, are two members of the store’s regular personnel. Mrs. Hatfield serves as bookkeeper and her husband is employed as a clerk. Bob Adkinson is also a full-time clerk.

Woods has two daughters, is a Mason, and an elder in the Harrodsburg Presbyterian church.

Corman & Bugg Deal Only in Real Estate Transactions (Richard Corman & Jason Bugg)
Nothing is more important in the handling of real estate than the reputation of the agency engaged to handle the transaction. The Corman & Bugg Real Estate company can handle any size job in the real estate line. Selling homes, farms, personal property, and handling private sales and public auctions is their only business. They have no sidelines.

The Corman & Bugg Real Estate company was formed January 1, 1951, with Richard Corman and Jason Bugg as its owners and operators. Before that date, Corman was engaged in the real estate business at the same location on East Poplar Street the firm now occupies.

Richard (Dick) Corman was born in Jessamine County but moved to this county at the age of five. He attended school near Kirkwood and [at] McAfee before going to Berea College. After college, he settled in this city, joining Harrodsburg Implement Co. in February, 1918. He was employed by this company until 1928, at which time he purchased an interest in the Harrodsburg Motor Company, a business later destroyed by fire. Shortly after the fire, Corman bought all the company’s stock and opened Harrodsburg Motor Company on Broadway, handling Dodge and Plymouth automobiles and a line of hardware and farming implements.

In September 1945 he sold this business and became connected with the Harrodsburg Tobacco warehouse. In 1946 he built the Greyhound bus station on Greenville Street and operated it and a restaurant for a few months. Corman is a Mason and belongs to the Christian church.

Jason Bugg is a native of this county and a graduate of Harrodsburg high school. He worked for the Wright Aeronautical Corp., Cincinnati before entering the U. S. Army Air Force, and after his discharge from the service in 1945 attended school at the University of Cincinnati. In 1948 he returned to Harrodsburg and opened the White Cottage restaurant as a partner in that business. He sold his interest in the White Cottage in December 1950 in order to go into the real estate business.

During his army service in the European theatre, Bugg’s plane was shot down over France by the Germans while on its 22nd mission. He was reported missing in action and later his parents were notified that he had been killed. Bugg and a buddy parachuted to the ground, but their pilot, C. P. Peck, Jr. of Oklahoma was killed. It is believed he died when their plane, “Peck’s Bad Boys,” crashed.

Bugg was held in several prison camps, spending the longest period at Gross Tychow [Stalag Luft IV] in Poland. When the Russians advanced westward, the 35 Germans forced the prisoners to march back into Germany. Bugg said he walked over 700 miles before being liberated in April, 1945 by a unit of the British army. Bugg is married, has one son, and is a member of the Harrodsburg Baptist church.

Blue Grass Gas & Electric Co. Serves Wide Central Ky. Area (Floyd Hicks)
Headed by Floyd Hicks, the Blue Grass Gas & Electric Company is known throughout this area as a leading distributor of bottled gas, plumbing and heating contractors, and dealers in all types of home appliances.

Television sets, radios, heating and cooking stoves, home freezers – a complete line of General Electric appliances – are stocked at the Blue Grass Gas & Electric store located on Main Street. The firm also handles a full line of Youngstown Kitchen products. They have installed water systems and plumbing and heating equipment in many buildings and houses in Mercer County and nearby communities.

Floyd Hicks, president of the Blue Grass Gas & Electric Company, is by trade a professional engineer. He was born at Dixon, Tenn. but moved to Somerset, Ky. at the age of 14, where he attended school and went to work for the Kentucky Utilities Company. At the age of 16 he took a KU position at Greenville, in western Kentucky, and later worked all over the state with KU construction crews.

For three years Hicks was connected with Seaboard Terminal, Jersey City, N. J. as an engineer. In 1936 he came to Harrodsburg as chief engineer for the Harrodsburg Ice & Produce and the Blue Grass Butter Company. The Blue Grass Gas & Electric Company was formed eleven years ago. Hicks is a member of the American Society of Refrigerating Engineers.

Employees are Joe Humber and William Buchanan, plumbing and heating; Walter Reul and Kenneth McDonley, rural gas; Mrs. Thomas King, sales; and Mrs. Cornell Davenport, bookkeeper.

Hicks married the former Miss Dorothy Duncan, this county, and is a member of the Harrodsburg Christian church.

Meade Hardware Co. is Large Supplier of Farming, Home Needs (Al Meade & Winfield Baker)
There is a certain satisfaction that comes from patronizing a firm in which the customer has the utmost confidence. The Meade Hardware Company, under the ownership and management of Al Meade and Winfield Baker, is just that kind of establishment.

Meade Hardware Company is helping Harrodsburg and Mercer County move forward by supplying a complete line of hardware, electrical appliances, paints, and farming supplies. Name brands handled are Norge appliances, Zenith radio and TV sets, and Hanna paints.

Meade Hardware was founded in December, 1945 by Al Meade. Winfield (Red) Baker, a brother-in-law, became a partner in the business in October, 1948. Before coming to Harrodsburg, Baker was a business partner of another brother-inlaw, T. C. Meade, operating a hardware store at Pikeville.

Al Meade was born in Magoffin County and attended an orphans’ school at Tiffin, Ohio. He went to high school at Ashland and was a member of the famous Ashland high football team that gained national recognition in 1926-27-28-29. Two other members of that famous team were Ellis Johnson, now coach at Morehead, and Eck [George Elliot] Allen, backfield coach at Fordham. Meade played college football at Centre College, where he graduated with a B.S. degree. He also graduated from the University of Kentucky with a Master’s degree in Education, after which he was football line coach at Ashland high school. Two of the boys Meade coached in high school, Jay Rhodemyre and Big John Johnson, made AllAmerican team while in college. Meade started his hardware career with his brother, opening a store at Prestonburg. He married the former Miss Lucy Hayward of Danville, and is a member of the Presbyterian church. The Meades have three children.

Winfield Baker is a native of Shelby County and attended school at Shelbyville. He served as chief of the Shelbyville fire department for eight years before volunteering for service in the U. S. Air Force during World War II.

After being separated from the service, Baker took a position as chief of the fire department for Air Transport Command, Romulus, Mich. Baker married the former Miss Chloe Meade of Johnson County, and is a member of the Christian church.

Employees aiding in the wholesaling and retailing at Meade Hardware Company are William (Bill) Currans, Johnny Huffman, and Cecil Carey.

Gardner & Pinkston Operate Furniture Manufacturing Plant (H. B. Gardner & William "Bill" Pinkston)
Few people are aware of the fact that Harrodsburg has a furniture manufacturing plant, but Gardner & Pinkston (a father-in-law, son-in-law combination) turn out antique cherry reproductions which they sell in all parts of Kentucky and surrounding states.

Gardner & Pinkston are very thorough in the operation of their business, starting from scratch – with the purchase of trees – carefully supervising each process right down to the retailing of the finished product.

Trees are purchased in Kentucky mountain counties, felled by a chain saw which is hauled to the forest from the Gardner & Pinkston shop in this city, then hauled to a sawmill to be sawed into lumber. The lumber is brought to this city and ricked for air curing. After drying for 12 months or longer, the lumber is then taken to Tennessee for kiln-drying, then returned to the Gardner & Pinkston cabinet shop on Eminence Avenue to be used in the manufacture of furniture.

In addition to furniture making, Gardner & Pinkston recently opened a new antique and furniture store on North College street. For two years, they operated the Home Furniture and Appliance Company on South Main street. Refinish work on antiques is done at the North College street location.

Employed in the manufacture of furniture are Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Burkhead, in charge of the cabinet shop; Willie Baker and Bobby Baker, finishing department; and part-time workers are hired to cut trees and haul lumber.

H. B. Gardner was born in Washington County, but moved to this county at the age of five. He graduated from Cornishville school and for 15 years operated a general merchandise business there. Gardner has been engaged in farming his entire life, at one time being affiliated with his brother in extensive dairying operations. He married the former Miss Myrtle Britton, this county, and is a member of the Baptist church. The Gardners have three children.

William (Bill) Pinkston, also a native of Washington County, graduated from Cornishville high school and attended the University of Kentucky. During World War II he was in the U. S. Army, serving in the European Theatre of Operations. Pinkston is a member of the Baptist church, and married the former Gaynelle Gardner. The couple has two daughters.

Ellis Bros. Operate Motor and Implement Firm; Distribute Oil (Coy Ellis & Roy Ellis)
The Harrodsburg Motor and Implement Company, owned and operated by Ellis Bros., is one of the city’s leading concerns engaged in its particular field of endeavor. Roy and Coy Ellis have been selling John Deere farm machinery, DeSoto and Plymouth automobiles, Mack trucks, DeLaval dairy equipment, tires, tubes, batteries, and a light line of farm hardware at their present location on West Broadway since January 1, 1946.

A service department is also operated, with trained and experienced employees performing high caliber service. This department includes an automobile body shop, auto repair shop, and welding shop. Portable welding equipment enables Harrodsburg Motor & Implement to take care of a repair job at the scene of the breakdown.

Fairbanks-Morse water systems are also handled, as well as fertilizers and a complete line of new parts for machinery and motor vehicles sold by the firm. The Ellis brothers are distributors for the Aetna Oil Company in this county, taking on that job in March, 1951. J. T. Cloyd is in charge of the Aetna phase of the Ellis operations, with Mrs. Coy Ellis taking care of the office at the bulk plant on Factory Street.

Harrodsburg Motor employees are: E. G. Curry, body shop; V. E. (Buddy) Sims, in charge of welding; Lewis Coffman, John Barber, welding; J. D. Riley, Randolph Holt, farm machinery; Lennie B. Davis, Earl Cloyd, auto repair; Buck Medley, Otho Divine, delivery, lubrication, and tire repair; R. H. Gash, Jr., parts; and Mrs. Ruth Corman, bookkeeper.

Roy and Coy Ellis were born in the Kirkwood section of this county and are graduates of Salvisa high school. After purchasing the Harrodsburg Motor and Implement Company, they opened a John Deere and Buick automobile agency in Lawrenceburg, but sold that business to h. V. Cammack, a partner, after nearly two years of operation.

Coy Ellis married the former Miss Elizabeth Freeman, this county. They have one son.

Roy Ellis served three and one-half years in the U. S. Army Air Corps during World [War] II.

Goodlett & Hayslett Aware of Area’s Plumbing, Heating Needs (Guy Goodlett & Gilbert Hayslett)
Realizing that a small “unimportant” job is important to the owner – and may also lead to other contracts – Goodlett and Hayslett Plumbing & Heating gives the same painstaking attention to a small repair job as they do to the larger contract.

Goodlett & Hayslett are fully aware of the fact that the old-fashioned home (even those in the country) without a water system and satisfactory plumbing and heating systems will soon be a thing of the past, and to take care of the demand for these modern necessities have in stock a complete line of nationally known brands of household fixtures. The firm has the franchise in this county for Hotpoint appliances, and handles Tappan gas ranges, gas heating equipment, and all kinds of plumbing equipment.

Guy W. Goodlett and Gilbert Hayslett, owners and operators of the business, opened at their present location on North Main street in June, 1948, after moving their headquarters to this city from Burgin, where they had been operating a plumbing and heating business as partners since August, 1947. Goodlett originally founded the business in October, 1946.

Goodlett and Hayslett maintain a complete service department, doing repair work on all appliances and plumbing and heating equipment.

Employees aiding in the operation of the business are: Horace Hourigan, William Hayslett, Raymond Bugg, John Baker, Paul Royalty, Ed Estes, Robert Hayslett, Arthur Fauth, Edwin Taylor, Elmer C. Tatum, D. L. Goodlett, stockroom, and Miss Jean Patterson, bookkeeper.

Gilbert (Gil) Hayslett is a native of Virginia, but moved to Kentucky at an early age. He attended school at Burgin and worked in the plumbing and heating business there for two years before going to Miami, Fla., where he was in the same business for almost a year. He was employed for one year in the repair department of the Caterpillar company at Memphis, Tenn.

Hayslett served in the U. S. Army approximately four years during World War II, and following his discharge was connected with a plumbing and heating firm in this city for two years before forming a partnership with Goodlett. He married the former Miss Hallie B. Tatum, this city. They have one son.

Guy W. Goodlett was born in Jefferson County, but moved to Burgin at the age of 10 years. After graduating from Burgin high school, Goodlett worked in the electrical and plumbing and heating departments of Montgomery-Ward company of Danville for six years. He also was connected with other plumbing and heating concerns in this area before going into business for himself.

Goodlett served in the U. S. Navy during World War II, is a member of the Burgin Christian church, and belongs to the Burgin Lions Club. He married the former Miss Ruth Freeman, this county. They have a daughter and three sons.

Riley & Hankla Motor Co. Has Made Two Expansions in 4 Years (Roy L. Riley & Ed Hankla)
Car owners who leave their car at Riley & Hankla Motor Company have acquired the habit of leaving everything up to “Roy and Ed” – and it has proved to be a good habit. Trained and experienced mechanics at Riley &Hankla know what is needed to put any make or model automobile into a good state of repair. The firm is starting its fourth year this month, but the owners’ experiences in public business date back several years.

The Riley & Hankla Motor Company came into existence in April, 1949, and since that time has been in operation at the present location on West Lexington street. A steady growth in business volume has necessitated two expansions, more than doubling the size of the original building.

Riley & Hankla Motor Company has the Studebaker agency in this city, handling both automobiles and trucks. They carry a complete line of Studebaker parts and sell tires, batteries, and other auto accessories. In addition, they operate a body repair shop which features one of the most modern paint booths in this section of the state, a complete service department, and recore and repair radiators of all makes.

Russell Curtsinger, recognized top-notch body man, and James Browning do the body repair work for Riley & Hankla; Fred Shewmaker, Allan Peavler, and Wallace Gilliland are mechanics in the service department; and Bill Harmon is bookkeeper.

Roy L. Riley is a native of Illinois, but his parents returned to this county during his childhood. He attended school in this city, and started working on automobiles at an early age. For several years he worked for his father, who operated a garage here, then was associated with his father in the garage business in Florida for five years. After returning to Harrodsburg, he worked as a mechanic at Ingram’s for 15 years before opening his own service garage in 1945. Hankla joined him four years later.

Ed Hankla was born in Boyle County and graduated from Perryville high school. Following his graduation, he was employed in Danville by the Standard Oil Company for eight years. He came to this county in 1941 to work for Sandusky Bros., and later was connected with the Farmers Supply Company. He is a member of the Mercer Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and a deacon in the Presbyterian church. He married the former Miss Mildred Webb of Boyle County. They have two sons.

Graves Jewelers are Nearing Half-Century Mark in Business (Lucille Graves, J. J. Graves, & Thomas Graves)
Graves Jewelers will soon be celebrating their Golden anniversary. The founder of the business, J. J. Graves, is still active in its operations, along with sone Thomas and daughter Lucille.

Except for being born in Kansas, J. J. Graves has always lived in this section of Kentucky. He graduated from the Mackville school and married the former Miss Ada Tumey of Mackville. He attended the St. Louis Watchmaking School, St. Louis, Mo., and in 1904 started into the jewelry business at Springfield. In April, 1919 he moved to this city and opened a shop which he has operated in the same Main Street location since that time. Until recent months, he practiced optometry in connection with his jewelry business.

Graves Jewelers sell jewelry at all prices and place at the command of their customers lasting, beautiful gifts. They have Towle, Gorham, and International silverware; Fostoria crystal glassware; Hamilton, Elgin, and Bulova watches; and a general line of diamonds, store rings, and other jewelry. A complete jewelry and watch repair service are also operated.

Thomas (Tommy) Graves was born in this city and graduated from Harrodsburg high school. Following his graduation, he became a partner in his father’s business – where he had worked since childhood. He served in the U. S. Army during World War II. Young Graves is treasurer of the Mercer Chamber of Commerce, vice-chairman of the James Harrod Boy Scout District, member and past president of the Junior Chamber of Commerce, is a Rotarian, a Mason, and belongs to the Harrodsburg Christian church.

Miss Lucille Graves became a partner in 1946, after working in her brother’s place during the war. She was born at Springfield, but moved here with her parents at the age of four. She graduated from Harrodsburg high school and Perry business school, and worked for Southern Bell Telephone company in this city before going into the jewelry business. She is active in work at the Christian church.

The elder Graves is also a member of the Christian church and a Mason. Another daughter, Mrs. Mary Graves Renfro, is employed at the city hall.

J. Garnett Tewmey Has Repaired a Lot of Radios in Twenty Years (J. Garnett Tewmey)
Not an actor in Hollywood has contributed as much to the entertainment of Harrodsburg and Mercer County residents as J. Garnett Tewmey – yet Tewmey has never put on grease paint or pulled a gag. His stage is a work bench in his radio shop on West Office street, his one continuous performance is doing repair work on broken down radio and television sets. During the last twenty years he has made a lot of radio entertainment possible by mending sets that were on the blink, and installing new ones.

Repair work is done on any make or model of radio or television sets. Tewmey’s son, James L. Tewmey, handles all television work. He has been working for his father since graduating from Harrodsburg high school, except for two years he served in the U. S. Navy during World War II.

Tewmey’s Radio and Television Service Shop is fully equipped for repair work. A line of parts is carried for use in servicing sets, and the owner is to be commended for never letting an opportunity pass to maintain or improve his reputation for superior work.

J. Garnett Tewmey is a native of this county. He attended Harrodsburg high school and later completed a course in radio. His first job was with the Music Supply Company, a store operated by L. B. Bigger, where he worked as a repair and service man. In 1935, after nearly 12 years with Music Supply, Tewmey went into business for himself. He operated a service shop at his residence on East Factory street until 1943, at which time her moved to his present location in the Avalon Inn building.

Tewmey is a member of the Harrodsburg Christian church and serves on the board of deacons. He married the former Miss Laura Goodpaster, Garrard County. They have a son and three daughters.

Western Auto Associate Store Operated by Conover Since 1936 (Wilbur Conover)
Automobile owners in this area can find just about anything they need to make their cars look better and operated more smoothly – regardless of make – at the Western Auto Associate Store.

Wilbur Conover, owner and operator of the store, has been selling Western Auto supplies in Harrodsburg since 1936. At that time, he opened a store on Main Street in the quarters now occupied by Lawson’s Jewelry Store, later moved to larger quarters on the southwest corner of Main and Lexington, and eight years ago moved to his present location on the northwest corner of Main and Lexington.

In addition to handling auto parts and accessories, the Western Auto Associate Store has sporting goods, hardware, household appliances, toys for children, and Western Auto’s own make (Truetone) of radio and television sets. Such items as tires, seat covers, auto tools, and outdoor sporting equipment are among the best sellers, and the store has gained the reputation of being one of the leading bicycle stores in this section. Marvin Purdom is employed as sales clerk to aid in the operation of the store.

Wilbur Conover was born in Adair County, but moved to this county with his parents at the early age of five. He graduated from Harrodsburg high school and attended Kentucky Wesleyan and the University of Kentucky. He went into business for himself immediately after finishing school.

Conover served with the U. S. Army in the European Theatre of Operations during World War II. He married the former Miss Rebecca Wilson. They have two sons and a daughter.

J. T. Freeman Settled in This County After 21 Year “Visit” (Mrs. & Mrs. J. T. Freeman)
J. T. Freeman came to Mercer County in 1914 from Whitley County to visit and aunt and uncle – since that time he has made this county his home. It was 21 years after that “visit” before Freeman returned to Whitley County, and then only to see friends and relatives.

The business firm J. T. Freeman & Son is strictly a family affair. Mr. and Mrs. Freeman own and operate two stores in this city, and James Freeman, formerly associated with his parents here, now operates a furniture store in Lawrenceburg. The nine Freeman children have all, at one time or another, had some part in aiding their parents in the operation of their business. Freeman stated that he and his wife have worked as a team to care for their business and to rear nine children.

J. T. Freeman & Son operates a farm machinery, heavy hardware, and seed store on Chiles Street, and sells electrical appliances, small hardware, kitchen utensils, paint, wallpaper, sporting goods, and other items at their location on North Main.

C. W. Sallee is in charge of the Chiles Street store and Fred Cornish and Junior Stratton service and repair TV sets, appliances, and farm machinery handled by the firm. Some of the radio and [text incomplete]

Frank Hoppin Opens Two New Businesses Within Month (Frank Hoppin)
Harrodsburg’s two youngest businesses – the Swirly Top Dairy Bar and the Sweet Shop – are owned and operated by a man who started his career as a restaurant operator in this city in 1946. After a brief period of restaurant ownership in Lexington last year, Frank Hoppin is back in business in this city at two stands.

The first week in this month, Hoppin opened the Swirly Top, a drive-in affair located at the corner of East Office street and Robards Court, and on May 17 opened the door to his Sweet Shop on Main Street. The Swirly Top features sundaes, malts, shakes, popcorn, sandwiches, soft drinks, and a six percent butterfat soft frozen dairy product called swirly top. The soft, ice-cream-like product is available in cups, cones, pints, quarts, or even larger quantities.

Hoppin is the founder and former owner of the Hop-Inn bus station on South Greenville street. He became ticket agent in this city for the Greyhound bus company after his separation from the armed forces in 1946, and operated the HopInn in connection with the bus station.

Frank Hoppin is a native of Minnesota. He attended the public schools of Fargo, N. Dak. and North Dakota State College. After finishing school, he went to work for Newberry’s and worked in several of the chain’s ten cent stores before being transferred to Versailles, Ky. in 1942.

Hoppin was in the U. S. Army for four years during World War II. He married Miss Jane Montague of Versailles. They have a son and a daughter.

Harry McNamer Has Long Experience in Bakery Shop (Harry McNamer)
One of the world’s oldest trades is baking – the business of making bread – but it’s a job that never gets old to Harry McNamer, owner and operator of McNamer’s Bakery on Main Street. He has been in business at his present location since coming to Harrodsburg in July, 1937.

McNamer’s Bakery puts out all kinds of bakery products. Everything that is sold in the bakery is made there, except ice cream. Customers call for white bread, wheat bread, French bread, salt rising bread, sweet rolls, cakes, pies, donuts and other related items, all fresh from the McNamer ovens.

There has been a recent expansion of business, brought about by the installation of a large new shelf-type oven and a huge refrigerator. The refrigerator is used to keep fresh the ingredients for baking, mixtures, and certain varieties of the baked products. The new oven makes it possible to turn out a wider variety of delicacies.

Harry McNamer is a native of Ohio, but moved to Augusta, Ky. with his parents at an early age. He graduated from the Augusta high school and immediately went into the baking business with his father. Later, the McNamer family went to Somerset and operated a bakery there for approximately one year.

They came to this city in 1937, at a time Harrodsburg had no bakery. Harry McNamer became sole owner of the business here in 1941.

Like yeast dough, McNamer was raised in a bakery. He has spent his entire lifetime in the business. He is a member of the Methodist church and is a Mason. Employees aiding in the operation of McNamer’s Bakery are Charles (Chuck) Peavler, William Roach, Mrs. Esther VanArsdall, and Mrs. John Gordon.

Mr. and Mrs. C. B. Lawson Operate Jewelry Store on Main Street (Mr. & Mrs. C. B. Lawson)
Whatever the occasion, the most appreciated and long-lasting gift is the gift of jewelry, according to Mr. and Mrs. C. B. Lawson, owners and operators of the C. B. Lawson Jewelry Store on Main Street.

The C. B. Lawson Jewelry Store places at the command of its customers lasting, beautiful gifts that can be purchased at a cost suitable to the buyer. It has a wide variety of stock at all prices.

Gruen, Benrus, and Elgin, all three recognized as leading watches, are sold by the Lawsons. A complete line of rings, diamonds, and other jewelry is handled. Holmes & Edwards and Rogers silverware is featured, and billfolds and other accessories are sold.

Repair work on clocks and watches is a big item at the Lawson store. All work is checked with a Watchmaker, a device that times the intricate workings of the pieces. Stanley Sutton, veteran watchmaker, assists the Lawsons in the operation of the business.

Both Mr. and Mrs. Lawson are natives of this county. Mrs. Lawson is the former Miss Lucille Bugg. She lived in the Nevada community and attended school there. Lawson attended school at Perryville and for several years was employed by the C.N.O. & T.P. Railroad as a construction worker.

He went into the jewelry business at a location on Mooreland avenue in 1942, later moving his store to quarters on Short street. In 1949, the Lawsons purchased the business they now operate from W. R. Pattie. The store was founded by Hanley Ruby in the late 1930s.

Mr. and Mrs. Lawson have a son, who is serving in the U. S. Air Force, and a daughter.

Wiley & West Specialize in Local, Long-Distance Moving (Bond Wiley & Harvey West)
There is no name in this section of the country better known than Wiley & West when it comes to completeness of service in local and long distance moving. This up-to-date moving and hauling business is noted for transferring all goods with great care. Wiley & West take all the moving worries and leave their customers to go about business as usual or attend to other duties. They operate three trucks, a moving van, a general hauling truck, and a pick up for light jobs.

Wiley & West are accustomed in the handling of good furniture and interior furnishings, and understand just how to take care of them. They complete all hauling on time and in a businesslike manner. Their trucks are handled with a clear understanding of all the good rules of the highway, and a thorough acquaintance with the mechanics of truck driving – thus assuring the public efficient and rapid service.

Bond Wiley founded the business in 1940 and took West in as a partner in 1946. Prior to that both men had several years transportation experience with Jimmy Green, who operated a transportation business in this city for a number of years.

Bond Wiley is a native of this county. He attended school at Ebenezer and has engaged in farming during most of his life. He married the former Miss Mildred Traynor, of this county. They have one son. Wiley is a member of the Harrodsburg Christian church.

Harvey West is also a Mercer County native and married a local girl, the former Miss Mattie Sallee. West went to school at Laurel Hill, worked on a farm, and was with Blue Grass Butter Company in this city for two years before going into the armed forces during World War II. He was in service over three years, much of that time in the Pacific theatre of operations. West is a Baptist and belongs to the Modern Woodmen.

Hugh Ligue and Joe Watts are employed to help in the operation of this business. Headquarters are at Wiley’s residence on East street.

Board & Board Proprietors of Women’s Dress Shop on Main (Miss Julia Board & Mrs. Hallie Board)
Miss Julia Board was well experienced in buying, handling, and selling women’s wear before she opened her own shop at its present location on South Main street in 1936. Mrs. Hallie Board purchased a one-half interest in the business a year later.

Board & Board features women’s and Misses apparel. They carry a complete line of ladies’ wear, including LeVine, Demi-Dell, and other popular brands of ladies’ dresses, and Helen Powell, Darlene, and Shirley Lee junior dresses. This store sells blouses, skirts, coats, suits, costume jewelry, gloves, purses, hosiery, lingerie, and Dorothy Perkins cosmetics.

Employees at the store are Miss Hester Davenport and Mrs. Richard Isham. Miss Julia Board was born in this county and attended school in this city.

She started her merchandising career at an early age, working in various dry goods and department stores in town. She worked for several years as a milliner, specializing in hat trimming.

Mrs. Hallie Board is a native of Nelson County and received her education in the Bardstown schools and Bardstown Girls’ College. She came to this county in 1920. Mrs. Board has a son and a daughter.

Both women are members of the Harrodsburg Baptist church.

J. P. "Pie" Williams Retires After 39 Years of Postal Duty (J.P. "Pie" Williams)
Harrodsburg Native to Leave Post Monday, June 30; is Well-Known Here At exactly 6 o’clock Monday afternoon, June 30, one of Harrodsburg’s bestknown persons will punch the time clock at the local post office for the last time.

This gesture for James Price (better known to all as “Pie”) Williams will mark his retirement from the U. S. Postal Service after 39 years of service.

There is probably no other person in Harrodsburg or Mercer County who is more familiar with its people and happenings through the years than “Pie”, for he has lived here nearly all his life and through his work has probably come in contact with more people than any one man.

Born March 9, 1892, he is a son of the late Augustus E. and Alice Stagg Williams. His grandfather founded the old Daughters’ College, which is now Beaumont Inn. Educated at Harrodsburg high school and Harrodsburg Academy, Mr. Williams later took a correspondence course in accounting from the LaSalle School in Chicago. “Pie” is believed to be the only living graduate from both these local schools. An athlete and a sportsman, he served as assistant manager of the Central Kentucky League back in 1909. For 30 years, he participated in home talent and minstrel shows, once joining the J. A. Coburn road minstrels with another local man, “Ski” Bonta. The two made a once well-known minstrel team, namely, “Ski and Pie”.

Leaving home at 18 and finally tiring of travelling around and bot exactly “having his feet on the ground,” Pie decided to come back to the “old home town” and settle down. On July 13, 1913, he became temporary clerk at the local post office and on October 15, 1914, was appointed regular substitute. In the meanwhile, December 28, 1915, he was married to Bess Anderson Devine of this county. Next, on February 1, 1916, he was made a regular city carrier, serving in this capacity until May 1, 1923, when transferred to carrier for rural route 4. His last appointment was on December 4, 1937, when he was transferred to clerk in the post office, retiring as such. In addition to his other duties, Pie has served for many years as secretary of the local civil service board. He has served under four postmasters, the first – the late J. Hal Grimes, under whom he served twice. Others were Miss Sue L. Beardsley, Willard Gabhart, and the present postmaster, Miss Carolyn Grimes.

A member of the Harrodsburg Christian church, Pie is a Mason, a member of the Odd Fellows Lodge, and a charter member of the Lions Club. He has also been a Kentucky Colonel.

Mr. and Mrs. Williams have a son, M/Sgt. Andrew Williams, who is stationed with headquarters of the Fourth Weather Group, Baltimore, Md. While Andy was53 stationed in the Panama Canal Zone, from where he was transferred last month, his father took a plane trip last December 21 to see him. Staying exactly a month, Pie says it was a wonderful vacation for him and he was much impressed with that part of the world, but didn’t like to well enough to leave his “good old home” in Harrodsburg.

The post office clerk also has a brother, Edwin A. Williams, who is superintendent of yardmasters, RF&P Railroad, in Richmond, Va. Asked by a Herald reporter what his plans for the future were, Pie replied, “I am going to take a good rest and do a little bookkeeping. Too, I am going to devote a lot of time to beautifying my yard, garden, and flowers – the things I love most.” It is said that he has truly “enjoyed living” by giving service to others.

Buddy Anness Began Grocery Career at an Early Age (Buddy Anness)
Buddy Anness has been selling groceries ever since he was big enough to ring up a cash register. After four years of clerking in various food stores in Central Kentucky, Anness now operates his own store on Cogar avenue in this city.

When Anness started selling steaks and other cuts of meat in the 1930s, price tags displayed were somewhat lower than those seen in meat cases today, he stated when interviewed this week.

“When I worked for G & P at Lawrenceburg, I sold round steak for 23 cents a pound,” Anness said.

The Anness Grocery, housed in a new, neat, modern building, carries a complete line of canned goods, fresh and canned meats, frozen foods, fresh fruits and vegetables, dairy products, bakery items, and such household articles as brooms, mops, polishes, and canning equipment.

Conveniently arranged shelves are stocked with foods bearing bright, fresh labels of such well-known brands as Hunt’s, Del Monte, Stokely, Hines [Duncan Hines? Heinz?], and Cross-Blackwell.

Store employees are Mrs. Arthur Preston, Billy Simpson, and Nancy Buchanan.

Buddy Anness was born in Harrodsburg and attended the public schools here. After attending HHS, he started in the grocery business, working at the Marsee Grocery in operation at that time. Later, he worked for the G & P chain, holding positions at their stores in Springfield, Lawrenceburg, Danville, Stanford, and in this city.

Anness was with the A & P stores for a number of years, being manager of the meat department in the A & P store here. In May, 1947, he and his brother, Henry Anness, opened their own store on Cogar avenue in a building just across the street from the present location. They operated the store on a partnership basis until Buddy purchased his brother’s interest in April, 1951.

Anness married the former Miss Valoise Terhune of this county. They have two sons. He is a member of the Methodist church.

McMurtrys Working Toward “A Better-Fed Mercer County” (O. W. McMurtry & Mrs. O. W. McMurtry)
There is always a firm in every community which stands out prominently because of its superior service. The owners and operators of the Mercer County Frozen Food Bank are experienced in handling foods and are competent in business judgement. Their slogan is “For a Better-Fed Mercer County.”

Mr. and Mrs. O. W. McMurtry opened at their present location on North Main street January 1, 1945, and since that time have made numerous expansions. At first, 360 lockers were installed, but two years later their frozen food locker service was covering such a wide territory it became necessary to add 200 additional lockers. The same year, an auxiliary unit (60 lockers) was installed in Tucker’s store at Salvisa. In 1948, a 30 x 68 ft. addition as built and another 150 lockers added. The McMurtrys provide a complete locker service. In addition to storage facilities, they maintain a meat curing and lard rendering department and buy and dress poultry. All types of frozen foods are available.

Last October, the locker owners opened a modern grocery store in a section of their building. Monarch, Richelieu, and Del Monte brands are handled. O. W. McMurtry is a native of Garrard County. He graduated from Buena Vista high school, attended Georgetown College, and received his A.B. degree from the University of Kentucky. He served as principal of Stanford high school for one year, and in 1923 came to Mercer County as principal of Rose Hill school.

Her served as principal at Rose Hill, Mrs. McMurtry teaching in the same school, until 1935, at which time he became principal of the Harrodsburg elementary school. In 1941, McMurtry left the class rooms and went into the hemp producing business near Henderson. In 1944, he returned to Harrodsburg with the locker business on his mind. He is a past president of the local Rotary Club, and is serving his second year as president of the Kentucky Locker Association.

Mrs. McMurtry was born in Rockcastle County. She graduated from Nicholasville high school and Transylvania College. Both are members of the Christian church. They have a daughter.

Employees at the Mercer County Frozen Food Bank are: Mrs. Herbert Warner, bookkeeper; Mrs. A. T. Henley, cashier; Henry Logue, butcher; Jewell Goodpaster, locker attendant; Maurice Logue, stock man; Charles McMurray, sales and delivery; and Glover Hayes [?], Negro, poultry dresser.

J. T. Cotton Has Been in Hotel Apartment Business for 25 Years (J.T. Cotton)
J. T. Cotton has been engaged in the hostelry business in Harrodsburg since 1927. Before that, he and his brother, Thomas Cotton, bought, sold, trained, and showed saddle horses in Central Kentucky and surrounding areas, continuing in this business until 1932.

Cotton and his wife, the former Miss Mary Rose Gentry, own and operate Aspen Hall Guest House on Beaumont Avenue. They purchased Aspen Hall in the fall of 1947, and since that time have rented guest rooms, and in recent months served meals by appointment.

Aspen Hall, a fine old Colonial mansion on spacious, shady grounds, was built in 1840 by Dr. James Shannon, head of Bacon College. When Cotton first laid eyes on the historic house (it once belonged to Mrs. Cotton’s parents, Mr. and Mrs. James T. Gentry), he began to think about its adaptation to a guest house. It is now furnished throughout with antiques and modern tile baths.

It has been told that following the Battle of Perryville, during the Civil War, Generals Bragg and Buell (who were relatives) met at Aspen Hall for a sneak visit. The two generals commanded opposing forces.

Cotton is also in the business of buying and selling country hams, and has put on the retail market several home-canned items he and Mrs. Cotton started making for their own use. The most famous of the Cotton home-canned delicacies are the watermelon sweet pickle, cucumber pickle, Spanish relish, and plum jelly.

J. T. Cotton was born in Madison County and attended school there, at Lancaster, and Millersburg Military Institute. He moved to Harrodsburg in 1927 when he and his brother purchased Hotel Harrod on Main Street. In 1935, he sold the hotel and leased the Harrodsburg Academy building, south of the Presbyterian church, and operated it as Avalon Inn. He also bought and sold antiques in connection with the hotel business. In 1941, he again purchased Hotel Harrod, renaming it Avalon Inn. In 1947, he sold a one-half interest to the present owner, and bought Aspen Hall. In 1949, he sold his remaining interest in Avalon Inn.

Cotton has long been active in civic affairs of the community. He was a charter member of the Harrodsburg Lions Club, and was recently elected president of the Mercer Chamber of Commerce. Both he and Mrs. Cotton are members of the Harrodsburg Presbyterian church.

Mrs. Cotton is a member of the Woman’s Club and the Little Theatre Group. They have two daughters.

Ernest Reed’s Store, Once a Grocery, In Same Location 20 Years (Ernest Reed)
Ernest Reed became a Harrodsburg merchant in 1933, when he and his brother-in-law, Z. B. Teater, opened a grocery store in the location now occupied by Reed’s Furniture Store. Before that, he was a farmer in the Bohon section of this county.

Reed went into the furniture, household appliances, and wall paper business with A. J. Frank in 1943, operating the business as a partnership. In 1947, he purchased Frank’s interest and since that time has been sole owner.

Located on North Main at the intersection of Broadway, Reed’s Furniture Store is a wall paper center. A large number of all-purpose selections and a variety of wall paper brands are available during all seasons. The store also offers Arvin television and radio sets, H & W paints, Westinghouse vacuum sweepers, Axminster rugs, Gold Seal linoleum rugs, gas ranges, and a wide line of household furniture. Cedar bed room suites are one of the store’s outstanding items. Fishing tackle is another big seller at Reed’s.

Mrs. Katherine Simpson has been employed to succeed Mrs. Opal Claunch, who was with the store for seven years before her resignation a few weeks ago. Mrs. William Claunch, a daughter of the owner, works part-time as a clerk.

Ernest Reed is a native of this county and married a Mercer countian, the former Miss Mary Teater. They have three daughters. He is a member of the Bohon Church of Christ.

Reed and his brother-in-law operated the People’s Cash Store (a grocery) until 1939, at which time he moved to Tucson, Arizona for his health. He returned to this city two years later to again take up business at his old stand.

Ernest Wilham Has Barbered in This City Since 1927 (Ernest Wilham)
Hair cutting has been the business of Ernest Wilham for more than a quarter of a century. He has worked at the trade at various shops in this city and has been employed at Richmond and Danville. He has been at his present location, as owner and operator of Wilham’s Barber Shop, West Lexington street, since 1941.

Going to Wilham’s Barber Shop is never an ordeal – it is a diversion. The shop’s four barbers are skilled. With them, their profession is a science. They know about hair and its characteristics. They know what can and should be done with different types of hair in order to give their patrons a well-groomed appearance.

Wilham’s Barber Shop, equipped with four chairs, offers the general run of barber shop work, including haircuts, tonics, shaves, massages, singes, and shampoos. Shoe shining service is also available.

Barbers at the shop are Carl Durbin and Elwood Butler. Ralph Foster, who recently resigned to take a job in Louisville, will be replaced. Sherman Tyler, Negro, is the shoe-shine boy.

Ernest Wilham was born in Louisville, but moved to Mercer County with his parents at the age of six years. He attended school in this county and spent some time in military training at Fort Knox. He was engaged in farming for several years before opening a barber shop in the Harrod Hotel in 1927. When he opened his present shop, it was a two-chair affair, but since has expanded to accommodate four customers at one time.

Wilham is now building a grocery store and service station on his property on the newly opened section of South College street, and plans to open the new business next spring. He will continue to operate his barber shop. He is a member of the Baptist church, and married the former Miss Margie Rose, this county. They have a son and three daughters.

Vandiver’s Grocery is One of City’s Oldest Business Firms (Hunter I. VanDiver)
The name VanDiver has been associated with the grocery business in this county for many, many years. The VanDiver & Company grocery store now operating on Main Street dates back to the 19th century, making it one of the oldest business firms in Harrodsburg that has been in continuous operation at the same location.

The store was founded back in the 1890s by John H. VanDiver, father of Hunter I. VanDiver, the present owner. The elder VanDiver at one time owned and interest in stores in Rose Hill, Bohon, and Duncan. He owned the VanDiver grocery in this city on two different occasions before taking his son, Allen T. VanDiver, in as a partner in 1906, at which time the continuous operation of the VanDiver name began.

VanDiver handles a complete line of groceries and such household items at brooms, mops, detergents, and frozen foods. The meat counter features well-known brands such as Swift’s, Emmart’s, and Fisher’s. Canned goods carry labels bearing the names Heinz, Libby’s, Hunt’s, Campbell’s, Stokeley’s, and other nationally known brand names. Fresh fruits and vegetables are available to customers throughout the year, and a wide variety of bakery and dairy products are handled. The store maintains a free delivery service.

Although Hunter I. VanDiver, a native of this city, was reared in the store and worked in it “off and on” all his life, he never devoted full time to the business until 1944, at which time he took over the management. After attending the Harrodsburg city schools and Beaumont College, VanDiver took a job as clerk at the local post office, a position he held for many years before resigning to take over the store.

VanDiver’s wife, the former Miss Minnie Harris of Woodford County, has assisted in the management of the store for a number of years. Eugene Young in employed as a clerk.

The VanDivers are members of the Christian church and have two children. He is a Mason and secretary of Mercer Lodge No. 777.

Smith & Divine Barbers Have Experience Totaling 111 Years (George Smith, Johnie Divine, Carl Smith, Steve Peak)
Barbers at the Smith & Divine Barber Shop on Short street have a combined total of 111 years of hair cutting experience. George Smith and Johnie Divine, senior partners in the business, claim 62 years of that total. Smith has been wielding the clippers for 32 years and Divine is now making up his 30th year. Carl Smith and Steve Peak, who came into the shop on a partnership basis in 1951, have 25 and 24 years respectively.

Barbers at the Smith & Divine shop are men especially skilled in the art of cutting hair and the know-how of giving the shave that pleases. They are thoroughly capable of performing all phases of barber shop work.

Johnie Divine is a native of Washington County and attended school there and in this county. He engaged in farming for a brief period before taking up barbering as a profession in 1923. He is a member of the Harrodsburg Christian church and married the former Miss Florence Matherly, also of Washington County. Smith & Divine went into business in 1923 after buying out Arch Dyehouse.

Five years later they moved up the street a few doors to their present location. At that time, haircuts were 25 cents and a shave cost a dime. Divine says these were the lowest prices the shop ever charged.

George Smith is a Mercer countian. He attended county schools and worked on a farm before attending Tri-City Barber’s School [i.e., Tri-City Barber College], Louisville, and starting to work at a local shop in 1921. He is a member of Bruner’s Chapel Baptist church and married the former Miss Ermine Sallee. They have one daughter.

Carl Smith was born in this county and attended school at Rose Hill. After a few months in the restaurant business, he decided to follow his brother’s example and take up barbering. He attended Tri-City Barber [College] in 1927, then worked in a shop here four years before opening his own business in 1931. He is a member of Bruner’s Chapel Baptist church and married the former Miss Georgia Terhune, this county. They have a son and a daughter.

Steve Peak is a native of Anderson County and began his barbering career in Lawrenceburg. He cut hair in this city from 1930-35, and has been employed here since 1946. Last year he became a member of the Smith & Divine firm. Peak is married and is a member of the Sand Spring Baptist church.

Dan Wilson Came Home from Old Country to Open Own Business (Dan "Don" Wilson)
In March of this year, a man who had spent five years overseas as a Liggett & Myers Tobacco Company representative, returned to this city because he wanted to go into business for himself in his own home town.

Dan Wilson, perhaps better known as “Don” Wilson, as he was called by that name in his younger days, operates the Wilson Building Supply Company on Chiles street in the building recently vacated by J. T. Freeman.

The Wilson Building Supply Company offers many of the leading brands in building supplies. The store is furnishing materials for some of the finest building contracts in Mercer and nearby counties. Wilson says in this time of high prices he is trying to operate with a low overhead in order to give customers products at a cheaper price.

Wilson handles Flintcote roofing, asbestos siding, fiber glass insulation and building paper. Gold Bond products consisting of rock lath, wall boards, tile, and tock wool insulation are stocked, and Superior window units, Truscon steel doors and general plywood flush doors are sold. Reynolds aluminum roofing is also available, as well as paints and building hardware. Lee Peavler is a pert-time employee at the store.

Dan Wilson, born in this city and educated in the local schools, is the third generation in the Wilson family to engage in the building industry in Mercer County. His grandfather, Dan Wilson, and father, P. N. Wilson, both deceased, were well-known building contractors here.

After graduating from HHS, Dan Wilson went into the U. S. Army Air Force during World War II, serving as a pilot instructor. He began his career with the Liggett & Myers people on the Harrodsburg tobacco market at the age of 16. In 1946 he accepted a position with the tobacco company in Samsun, Turkey, and served as manager of the Liggett & Myers branch in that foreign country from 1950 until his resignation. Wilson married the former Miss Garnetta Hardin of this city. They have a son. He is a member of the Harrodsburg Christian church.

Hotel Service at Avalon Inn Dates Back to State’s Beginning (Mrs. Josephine Mitchell)
The southwest corner of Main and Office streets has been the location of a tavern, rooming house, eating place, hotel, or inn since the beginning of civilization in Kentucky. Records show that present day Avalon Inn stands on the spot where Old Stone Tavern was erected in 1792.

Avalon Inn, operated by Mrs. Josephine McConnell Mitchell, was once known as Hotel Harrod. The structure was built more than a century ago, and down through the years its occupants have kept alive the famous old inn’s reputation as an excellent lodging house. Avalon Inn is also noted for famous food – Kentucky country ham, southern fried chicken, and western steaks being a year-around specialty.

A staff of 15 is employed to operate the 50-room inn. Meals are served to guests, various civic clubs that hold their regular meetings there, private parties, and the general public. Avalon Inn has been the permanent residence of some of its guests for 25 years.

Mrs. Josephine McConnell Mitchell is a native of Caldwell County in western Kentucky. She graduated from Princeton high school and attended Bethel Woman’s College at Hopkinsville. She served as deputy sheriff of Caldwell County for four years and was later appointed tax collector of that county. She operated the Stephen Collins Foster hotel at Bardstown before coming to this city in 1947 to become affiliated with the management of Avalon Inn.

Mrs. Mitchell has a daughter, Martha Ann Mitchell, who helps in the operation of the inn. Both are members of the Harrodsburg Baptist church, the Woman’s Club, and the Little Theatre group.

Lesters Rounding Out First Year at Hop-Inn Bus Station (Mr. & Mrs. William W. Lester)
No matter where in the world you want to go – you can get there from here, Mrs. William W. Lester, local Greyhound Bus agent, stated in a recent interview at the Hop-Inn Bus Station on Greenville Street.

Mrs. Lester and her husband, William (Bill) Lester, own and operate the Hop-Inn. They purchased the business at public auction last September and are all set for their first anniversary the latter part of this month.

The Lesters operate a confectionery along with the bus ticket selling business, and maintain a magazine department that offers a wide variety of newspapers, magazines, and other reading material. The restaurant features short orders, a soda fountain, cigarettes and cigars, fine candies, and soft drinks.

William (Bill) Lester is a Mercer County native. He graduated from Rose Hill high school and worked for the Cudahy plant in this city before going into business at the Hop-Inn. He is a member of the Bruner’s Chapel Baptist Church.

Mrs. Lester, the former Miss Eileen Sampson, is also a graduate of Rose Hill high school. She was born in Lincoln County and attended school there before moving to this county. She was employed at the Hop-Inn when it was owned by Frank Hoppin, founder of the business.

Employees aiding in the operation of the Hop-Inn are Mrs. J. W. Brown, Mrs. Matilda Keebortz, Mrs. J. W. Jackson, and Miss Ann Sampson.

Lacefields Operate Home Supply Business, Guest House (Mr. & Mrs. D. L. Lacefield)
The directing head of the Modern Home Supply Company, D. L. Lacefield, realized when he started his firm in 1947 that no business could hope to be a success unless it provided a needed service. The Modern Home Supply is set up to provide more than one service. In addition to carrying a complete line of household furnishings, the firm does its own financing to make it possible for customers to buy on the installment plan.

Items handled by Modern Home Supply include rugs, curtains, drapes, blankets, spreads, lamps, dishes, work clothing, tables, smoking stands, curtain stretchers, irons and ironing boards, and many others. All these articles are sold directly to homes by salesmen who have regular routes in several Central Kentucky counties.

Jack Williams of Brodhead is a partner in the business, and John Clark has charge of selling in Mercer and surrounding areas. In all, there are five salesmen in charge of the routes. The warehouse and main office are located at the Lacefield residence on Main Street in this city.

D. L. Lacefield was born in Anderson County, but has lived in this county since his first birthday. He grew up in the Braxton and Hopewell communities and was educated in the county school system. While a young man, he spent two years in Akron, Ohio with the Firestone Tire people, but came back to Mercer County to see life insurance.

Lacefield is active in civic affairs, and is at present a member of the City Board of Commissioners. He is a Mason, and both he and Mrs. Lacefield are members and active workers in the Harrodsburg Baptist Church.

Mrs. Lacefield is active in the home supply business, and the management of the 16-room guest house the Lacefields operate. She is the former Miss Archie May Sanders and taught school in the county system for 12 years. Later, she and her mother, Mrs. W. A. Sanders, operated Old Fort Inn. She is a graduate of Harrodsburg high school and Eastern Kentucky State College, Richmond. The [Lacefields] have one son.

Bruner & Sims Funeral Home in Same Family for 3 Generations (J. Elmer Sims)
For three generations the Bruner & Sims Funeral Home on Beaumont Avenue has served Harrodsburg and Mercer County. The funeral parlor was founded in 1910 by E. I. Bruner, grandfather of J. Elmer Sims, the present owner.

It is the oldest business establishment of the kind in the city, Sims stated in an interview this week, and it has been the policy of the firm down through the years to give the highest-type service possible. All equipment and facilities are modern, and a 24-hour ambulance service is maintained.

J. Elmer Sims has been actively engaged in the funeral business since boyhood. After the death of his father, the late Lee Sims, in 1938, he operated the Bruner & Sims Funeral Home with his mother until 1940, at which time he became sole owner.

Sims was born in this city and has lived on Beaumont Avenue all his life. He graduated from Harrodsburg high school, Kentucky Military Institute at Lyndon, attended Centre College and Georgetown College, and is a member of Phi Kappa Alpha fraternity.

He is a member of the Harrodsburg Baptist Church, is a Mason, a past president of the local Rotary Club, and is at present a member of the City Board of Commissioners. He married the former Miss Boone Nichols of Danville. They have a son and a daughter.

Aiding in the operation of the business is Elijah (Lige) Norton, who has been an embalmer and funeral director at the Bruner & Sims Funeral Home for approximately 30 years. Mrs. Norton is also an assistant, and Andrew Comingo is ambulance driver and helper.

The Bruner & Sims Funeral Home is a member of the Kentucky Funeral Directors Association, the National Funeral Directors Association, and the Kentucky Funeral Directors Burial Assoc., Inc. They also have facilities to render service to Mercer countians anywhere in the nation.

Mr. & Mrs. A. J. Frank Operate Store and Build Housing Units (A. J. Frank)
“A typical modern general store,” that is the way A. J. (Jack) Frank and Mrs. Frank describe their business located on West Lexington Street. They carry a complete line of groceries, feature an outstanding modern meat department, and handle hardware, paints, wallpaper, and men’s work shoes and work clothing.

A rapid turnover of goods keeps the shelves freshly stocked with leading brands of canned foods, fresh fruits and vegetables, and frozen food products. Ball Band footwear, Gold Seal rugs and linoleums, H. & W. paints, and dinnerware and glassware are also carried.

Frank’s store was started in its present location 18 years ago. At that time, it was housed by only a small building, but a steady increase in the volume of business has made two expansions necessary and at the present time the store is literally “bursting at the seams.” However, a major expansion is limited due to the size of the lot on which the store is located.

Mr. and Mrs. Frank are also partners in another business. They build homes for rental purposes. In acquiring sites for their housing units, the Franks do a lot of buying, trading, and selling, but do not specialize in that phase of the real estate business. In recent years, they have built approximately 30 new homes and business houses in this city.

A. J. Frank was born at Burkesville in Cumberland County. He came to Harrodsburg in 1933 from Danville, where he had lived since 1900. His father was engaged in the wholesale grocery business in Danville, and at the age of 12 he went on the road as a salesman for his father to fill in for men who were ill or on vacation. He started selling at a much earlier age, however, having a paper route at the age of seven.

Frank was educated in the Danville city schools and attended Center College in that city and St. Mary’s College at St. Mary’s, Ky. He worked for his father until taking a job as a traveling salesman for the Peaslee-Gaulbert Corp., Louisville, traveling for that firm 18 years, and ranking among the company’s top ten salesmen every year. He was forced to retire a few years ago because of a heart ailment. He is active in civic affairs, serving at present on the City Board of Commissioners. He is a member of the Rotary Club, the Methodist Church, and is a Mason. Frank has a son, Beecher Frank, who is a member of the producing department of a Louisville radio station and conducts a popular disc-jockey program.

Mrs. Frank is a native of this county and has engaged in the mercantile and building business in this city for the last 20 years. She attended school in this68 county, is also a member of the Methodist Church, and belongs to the Order of the Eastern Star.

Employees at Frank’s Store are Hollis Young, manager; Morgan Bradshaw, meat department manager; Z. B. Teater, assistant manager; James Bradshaw, Herman Young, L. A. Tapp, Mrs. Arnold Carter and Miss Mary Jenkins, clerks.

B. M. Royalty Serves City as Mayor and Appliance Merchant (B. M. Royalty)
B. M. Royalty, mayor of Harrodsburg, has been engaged in the mercantile business in this city almost continuously since his boyhood. He lived at Springfield, where he operated a dry goods store, for four years in the late 1930s. At present, he operates the B. M. Royalty Appliance Store, having recently leased the furniture department of his store to H. C. Hensley and G. E. Kissick, both of Irvine.

The B. M. Royalty Appliance Store handles Frigidaire household appliances, including refrigerators, home freezers, and stoves. Other items stocked are Speed Queen washing machines, RCA Victor radio and television sets, Enterprise gas stoves, Sherwin-Williams paints and varnishes, and Armstrong Quaker hard surface rugs.

B. M. Royalty is a native of Mercer County and attended schools in this county and in Washington County. He was a foreman in a manufacturing plant in Illinois for two years before going into the grocery business on Chiles Street with his father-in-law. Later he formed a partnership with his brother, H. G. Royalty, and they opened a grocery store on Lexington Street.

Royalty purchased his brother’s interest after a few months operation and moved into new quarters he had built on Main Street (now occupied by the frozen food locker), where he operated a general store for about seven years.

In 1930 he moved to Springfield and opened a dry goods store known as the Outlet Store. Three years later he hired Charlie Farris to manage the Springfield store and returned to this city to open Outlet Store No. 2. He ran the two stores until selling the Springfield store to Farris in 1948.

In 1944 Royalty purchased the M. M. Daviess Furniture store, located next door to his Outlet store, cut an archway in the wall and operated the two businesses as one. In 1950 he renovated the building housing the Outlet store, took on the Frigidaire appliance agency and dropped the dry goods business.

B. M. Royalty is a member of the Harrodsburg Methodist Church, belongs to the Rotary Club, and is a Mason. He married the former Miss Bernice Patterson, also a native of this county. They have a son and a daughter.

Royalty has been active in civic affairs for many years and is now serving his first term as mayor.

Personnel aiding in the operation of his business are Mrs. Ruth Davenport and Burnis Sallee.

Glover McGinnis Complete 15 Years with Standard Oil (Glover T. McGinnis)
Glover T. McGinnis has been distributing Standard Oil products in this community for the last 15 years, except for two years he spent in the army. More than half of that time (eight years), he has owned the Standard agency in this county and operated the company’s large bulk plant at the corner of East Office street and Marimon avenue.

McGinnis uses two trucks to deliver gasoline and fuel oil to approximately 25 Standard service stations and stores in this county. He also handles Atlas tires and tubes, Atlas batteries, and other automobile accessories, and plans to open a service station of his own in the near future.

Randall Darland and Curtis Bailey are employed as truck drivers, with Bailey also doing office and clerical work.

McGinnis was born in this county and attended Burgin high school. For two years he worked at the Fort Harrod garage in this city, taking over the position of stock room manager with that firm when his brother, Oliver J. McGinnis, resigned. He worked as an attendant at the Standard service station on East Lexington street for a few months before going to the bulk plant as a truck driver.

Glover McGinnis took over the Standard agency in March, 1943, and in December of the same year was called to serve in the armed forces. He saw action in the ETO with the 2nd Infantry Division.

He is a member of the Harrodsburg Christian Church, is a Mason, and belongs to the Kiwanis Club and the local American Legion Post. He married the former Miss Loraine Reed of this city. They have a daughter.

E. B. VanArsdale Devotes Time, Talents to Community Activity (E.B. VanArsdale)
One of Mercer County’s most civic-minded and public-spirited citizens is E. B. VanArsdale, owner of the VanArsdale Realty Company.

The VanArsdale Realty Company was formed 35 years ago and business has been conducted in the same office on Short Street since that time. For a number of years, the firm was also engaged in selling insurance, but dropped this phase of the business eight years ago. Appraising and selling real estate, both public and private sales, is the firm’s only business.

E. B. VanArsdale has devoted his entire life to the things he believes benefit Mercer County. He served for 15 years as president of the Mercer Board of Trade and is a past member of the Rotary Club. He is perhaps most widely known for his 27-year association with the Mercer County Fair & Horse Show. A nationally circulated magazine, The American Horseman, paid a great tribute to VanArsdale when he resigned as president of the Fair in 1947. An article in the publication stated that he had brought the Fair from obscurity to nation-wide fame.

Most Mercer countians are familiar with VanArsdale’s connection with the Fair. In 1919, he organized a company of 60 stockholders to take over the dilapidated fairgrounds property that was up for public sale. Under his leadership, and with the aid of other interested persons, the Mercer County Fair sprang to life and attracted the attention of horsemen in all parts of the nation. He was instrumental in bringing to the local Fair the American Saddle Horse Breeders Futurity, which paid premiums totaling $15,000. He has served as a member of the Kentucky State Fair Board.

VanArsdale has always been interested in promoting farming, and owns the Willow Brook Farm located on the Lexington road. For a number of years, he was president of the October Harvest Festival, an event that featured exhibits of agricultural products.

He is a native of Mercer County and received his formal education in county schools and at the Hoggett Academy in this city. He married Miss Nancy Gaitskill, who died in 1942. He has two daughters. He is a member of the Christian Church. Before going into the real estate business, VanArsdale was connected with the livery and transfer business for approximately 20 years at a location on West Lexington street.

G. L. Semonis, another native Mercer countian, has been affiliated with the VanArsdale Realty firm since January, 1951. Semonis has been in the real estate and livestock trading business for more than 30 years.

Hunter Burton is Agent for Ashland Oil in Mercer Area (Hunter D. Burton)
Hunter Burton’s Ashland Oil bulk plant on Cornishville street and Moberly road is also located on the Southern railroad line – where you can hear the trains roll by – and the hum of the wheels on the steel rail is music to Burton’s ears. For 10 years, he was a brakeman on the same Southern line that runs near his place of business, working the Louisville to Danville stretch.

Hunter Burton is agent in Mercer and Anderson counties for the Ashland Oil & Refining Company. With his two large tank trucks, he serves 16 stations in the two counties. George B. Foster is driver of one of the trucks.

Burton handles Ashland Flying Octanes, Ashland lubricants and oils, Valvoline and Quaker State oils and lubricants, Firestone tires, batteries, and other automobile accessories. He bought the bulk plant on the corner of Cornishville and Moberly roads in January, 1948 (Ohio Oil Company at that time), and in August of the same year, the Ashland Company bought out the Ohio company’s holdings in this area.

Hunter D. Burton was born in the Bohon community of this county and graduated from Harrodsburg high school. He ran a grocery store in partnership with his brother, Russell Burton, on Main Street for three years, and worked at the Bruner-Sims Funeral Home for three years. He worked for Southern Railroad from 1938 until 1948 (except for time in the armed forces) and is still a member of the Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen.

During World War II, Burton was in the army four years, serving with the 55th AAA Brigade in the ETO and landed in France on D-Day. He is a member of the Rotary Club, an associate member of the Junior Chamber of Commerce, and a member of the Christian Church.

Burton married the former Miss Mary Zella Smith, Owingsville, former home demonstration agent. They have two daughters.

G. B. Sims Gutter & Tin Shop Does All Types of Sheet Metal Work (G. B. Sims)
The G. B. Sims Gutter & Tin Shop, located on North Chiles street, offers a complete service in general sheet metal work to residents of the Mercer County area. The firm is ready to handle all types of this work and no job is too large or none too small to receive prompt attention.

For the last decade, the G. B. Sims Gutter & Tin Shop has contracted for gutter and roofing jobs on new construction projects, and is looking forward to serving the community by providing this service in years to come. The firm also contracts to do roofing and gutter maintenance work, and keeps in stock such sheet metal supplies as tin, copper, zinc, and stainless steel.

Sims specializes in the manufacture of barn ventilators and revolving hoods for chimney tops. These items, along with aluminum awnings and other products, are on display for sale. Sims is the authorized dealer for Lennox furnaces and air conditioners in this county.

G. B. Sims was born in the Duncan community of this county and was educated in the county schools. He married the former Miss Evelyn Burton, also of this county, who is associated with him in the operation of his business. Others employed are Gilbert Norvel, Maurice McGlone, and Harry Upton, all tinners.

While a young man, Sims went to Chicago and was connected with the restaurant business. He returned to this county and was engaged in farming for eight years before taking a job with the Harrodsburg Ice & Produce company, a position he held four years. In 1940, he went to work for the DuPont company at Charlestown, Ind., and in 1942 took a defense job with the B. F. Goodrich company at Akron, Ohio, working in the Metals department. In 1945, he returned to Harrodsburg and went into the sheet metal business for himself.

Sims is a Mason and both he and Mrs. Sims are members of the Harrodsburg Christian Church. They have a son and a daughter.

Moss Christman’s Greenhouses Produce Flowers Year Round (Moss Christman)
Moss Christman, owner and operator of Christman’s Greenhouses on North College street, has been growing and selling flowers and plants all his life. Christman’s Greenhouses features cut flowers, corsages, potted plants, bedding plants, vegetable plants, flowers for weddings, funeral sprays, and all types of annual and perennial plants. Decorations for churches, house parties, and other events are also available.

Christman’s three greenhouses and hot beds are located behind the office and flower shop. A steam heating system is used to regulate the humidity and temperature, and beautiful, blooming flowers thrive throughout the winter months. During the summer, flowers are grown in the houses and in a large garden on the Christman property. A newly drilled well has solved the water problem and eliminated the using of chemically-treated city water, and undesirable factor in raising flowers.

Christman’s provide a delivery service for all patrons, and is a member of the FTD Wire Association, which means orders are taken and sent by wire. Moss Christman was born in Madison County and in his boyhood moved to Bourbon County, where he was associated with his father and sister in the floral and plant business. The Christman family moved to Harrodsburg in 1929 and opened a floral and plant retail business at the present location. At that time, only one greenhouse was constructed, but an increase in business has necessitated the building of two additional houses.

Christman married the former Miss Opal Long of this county, who aids parttime in the operation of the business. Bill Dean is a full-time employee, and Howard Cornelison, Negro, has been employed by the Christman family for approximately 46 years. Extra help is used during busy seasons of the year. Dean is a grower and designer.

Christman is a Methodist, a Mason, and a member of the Lions Club.

William Deatherage Manages Smock-Gibson Lumber Company (Wiliam Deatherage)
William (Bill) Deatherage came to Harrodsburg from Madison County in 1946, and for the last five years has been manager of the Smock-Gibson Lumber Company on North College street.

The Smock-Gibson Lumber Company retails lumber, coal, builders’ hardware, paints, screen wire, sewer tile, and other items. The firm stems from the old Lee Smock Company and is one of the oldest businesses in Harrodsburg. There has been a lumber and coal yard in the present location for nearly three-quarters of a century.

Deatherage was born in Louisville, but his family moved to Richmond before he was one year old. He graduated from Madison High, Richmond, and was assistant manager of a J. J. Newberry Store at Richmond for three and one-half years. Deatherage was connected with an oil and gas business in Madison County for one year, and was employed by the Highland Construction Company of Louisville on a Richmond project before going into the U. S. Army in 1942. He served in the China-Burma-India theater of operations, receiving his discharge in February, 1946.

Deatherage came to Harrodsburg to work as a drug clerk for the Begley Drug Store. After a year with the firm, he worked for Blue Grass Gas & Electric Company approximately a year before taking his present position. His wife is the former Miss Nancy Eades of Madison County. They have a son, and are members of the Harrodsburg Christian Church.

Other full-time employees at the Smock-Gibson Lumber Company are Mrs. Dillard Gibson, bookkeeper; Robert (Bob) Kone, yard clerk; and Jackie Sigar and Rollie Reed, Jr., both colored, truck drivers.

William (Bill) Neal Supervises West. Ky. Gas Operations Here (William "Bill" Neal)
William (Bill) Neal has served as district superintendent for Western Kentucky Gas in this county since the company started operations here in September, 1949.

Western Kentucky Gas supplies this city and Burgin with natural gas, maintains a service department, and retails gas appliances. Janitrol heating equipment, A. O. Smith and Ruud water heaters, Servel gas refrigerators, Hamilton and Bendix clothes dryers, and Tappan, Roper, and Hardwick gas ranges are sold.

William (Bill) Neal was born in St. Louis, Mo., and completed elementary school there. He later moved to Evansville, Ind. and graduated from Evansville Bosse high school, participating in basketball and other sports. He attended Evansville College and was captain of the Evansville Aces 1943 basketball team. In 1944 he entered the U. S. Navy, serving for two and one-half years in both Atlantic and Pacific theaters. He reentered Evansville College after separation from the armed forces and graduated with a B.S. degree.

Neal was also active in baseball in high school and college, and after finishing high school signed up with the Chicago Cubs farm system, playing on the Des Moines, Iowa team until an arm injury terminated his baseball career.

Before taking the job here with Western Kentucky Gas, Neal worked as a sales-service representative for the Servel Company. He married the former Miss Ferry Anne Hall of Evansville. They have a daughter, Dianne, 3, and a son, David, age 1.

Bill Neal is active in civic and community welfare work. He has donated his time to promote Boy Scout activities, a community playground, and has worked with the local polio chapter. He is a member of the Rotary club, the Junior Chamber of Commerce, the Presbyterian church, and is a Mason.

Employees at Western Kentucky Gas Company are: Mrs. Lois Pearce, bookkeeper; T. C. Dennis, serviceman; Maurice Powell, serviceman’s helper; Paul Bird, meter reader; Cecil Coffman, welder; Marvin Bugg and Jordan Gibson, welder’s helpers.

James M. Todd Has Been Local K. U. Manager Since Sept., 1940 (J. M. Todd)
J. M. Todd is the man who has to do with dispensing one of Mercer County’s most useful and most needed items – electricity.

Todd is local manager of the Kentucky Utilities Company, Harrodsburg’s sole source of electrical power. KU provides electrical service to approximately 3,000 residential, commercial, and industrial customers in this county. The company has held its franchise here since 1927.

KU not only supplies the invisible agency that produces light, heat, and other physical effects, but maintains a crew of local workmen to do minor construction work, routine service connects and disconnects, meter reading, and other work.

Todd says there has been a substantial increase in his company’s business in this area since he came here as local manager in September, 1940. “The commercial and industrial picture has changed tremendously, and of course, this and an increased use of appliances brought on an increased demand from the residential users,” Todd said.

J. M. Todd was born at Shelbyville and graduated from high school in that city. He attended the University of Kentucky and the University of Louisville, and married the former Miss Martha Baringer of Louisville. They have a daughter, Patricia Dale, 5.

Todd was circulation manager for the Louisville Herald-Post at Shelbyville for one and a half years before taking a position with the Kentucky State Highway Department. He was in Harrodsburg, working with a highway surveying crew on Louisville road revisions, when he accepted his first position with Kentucky Utilities. That was in 1935, and the job was district merchandise salesman with headquarters in Shelbyville. In 1939, Todd went to Eminence as local KU manager, and came to this city in 1940.

Todd himself is as full of energy as the power lines he operates, and is always willing to take part in a community betterment program. He is a member of the Rotary club, past secretary of the Mercer Chamber of Commerce, has served as county Red Cross chairman, and is an active member of the Presbyterian church. Employees at the local Kentucky Utilities office are Mrs. O. J. Keightley and Miss Harriet Alexander, office clerks; A, H. Chesher and Clifford Young, servicemen; Isaiah (Za) Gabhart, service man and meter reader.

Bill Young is Chief Sign Painter in a Dozen Central Ky. Towns (Bill "Wahoo"Young)
Bill Young is known throughout Central Kentucky as a sign painter. It is doubtful if any other man in this area is as widely known for his profession. Better known to sign painters as “Wahoo” Young, he is listed in “Signs of the Times,” a Cincinnati, Ohio publication, as the Wahoo Sign Company. He does work in this city, Springfield, Danville, Lancaster, Stanford, Lawrenceburg, Bloomfield, Lebanon, Bardstown, and other nearby cities. He once did a job in Key West, Fla.

Bill and Mrs. Young were in Florida on a vacation trip when a friend they were visiting needed a sign painted. A few brushes and cans of paint always being available in the Young automobile, Bill did the job.

He specializes in painting and installing rental road signs, scotchlight (reflector), silver leaf, gold leaf, and metal signs. He is also an agent for Neon Signs, representing a firm in Lexington.

Bill Young is a native of Washington County. He graduated from Cornishville high school (this county) in 1935 and took an art course in Louisville. Later he was employed by the Superior Petroleum Company, Louisville, as a sign painter. He decided to go into business for himself, and says the late editor of the Herald, D. M. Hutton, is responsible for his choosing Harrodsburg as a home and central location for his work.

Bill does most of his work alone – all the actual painting – but occasionally picks up a helper to aid with ladders and other details. The weather never affects Bill. During the cold winter of 1950, he painted a sign on the Sportleigh Hall water tower when the temperature was near zero and a raw, biting wind whipped around his perch 118 feet above the ground. His workshop is in his basement at his home on N. Lane Street.

He married the former Miss Vertna Salmon of Washington County. They have one daughter, Joan. The Youngs are members of the Baptist church. Bill’s hobby is stock car racing.

Mrs. Delva Mather Sets All-Time Record for Lincoln Dept. Store (Mrs. Delva Mather)
The energetic manager of Main Street’s Lincoln Department Store is Mrs. Delva Mather. Well qualified for her position, she has had various types of experience in the retail merchandising business. Mrs. Mather, in recent years, served as manager of the ready-to-wear department at Kobacker’s, a leading firm in Mansfield, O., and was later employed as assistant buyer for a firm in Newark, O.

She was born and reared in Kitsmiller, Md., where her parents now reside, her father being a retired merchant. She was graduated from high school and business college in nearby Cumberland, Md.

With her late husband, a product developing engineer, Mrs. Mather moved to Mansfield, O. in 1938, where they resided until he died in 1949. A son, Paul, with his wife and son and daughter, live in Mansfield.

Mrs. Mather assumed the management of the Lincoln Store, owned by the Shapira Bros., on April 10, 1952, succeeding N. V. Gerhart. Under her supervision, the store has developed into one of the best and most modern ready-to-wear firms in Harrodsburg, and has the distinction of being the only store in town that sells fur coats.

The manager has added several new departments, and has purchased some of the best lines available in order to promote sales in various lines. The store features famous name brand dresses such as Jonathan Logan, Joan Miller, Betty Barclay, and Claire Curtis. Among children’s wear can be found the Love dress, and outstanding name in children’s ready-to-wear circles. Recent expansion also has been made in the shoe department, where the American Girl and Playmate shoes have been added to various other old established lines. Ship ‘n’ Shore, Peter Pan blouses, and Jonathan Logan skirts are, too, among famous brands to be found here.

The store carries a complete line of baby and children’s clothes, a boys’ department, linen department, and counters of other items including such merchandise as curtains and beddings.

In denoting the store’s progress, it was learned last weekend that it placed second in percentage of sales as compared with 1951 in a contest among the 12 Shapira chain stores. This merit alone reveals that the right kind of merchandise plus the initiative of its manger and sales personnel has made it rank among the top in the chain. The store received a cash prize of $15 for this accomplishment, which the manager said would be used for entertaining sales personnel.

Employees are Lillian Lay, Estelle Proctor, Ann Maul, and Evelyn Warner.81 Mrs. Mather is a member of the Harrodsburg Christian church, resides at Avalon Inn, and is a member of the Eastern Star and White Shrine.

Isabel and Valoise Operate City’s Newest Beauty Parlor (Isabel Henry, Valoise Anness)
Although the Isabel and Valoise Beauty Shop is the newest business of its kind in town, the operators are long experienced in the art of beauty culture. Miss Isabel Henry and Mrs. Valoise Anness, owners and operators of the business, are experts in giving the finishing touches to a hair-do, a manicure, or facial.

The Isabel and Valoise Beauty Shop is modern in every detail, and the owners keep abreast with modern ideas and the latest hair fashions. They specialize in cold waves, manicures, facials, hair styling, hair cutting, and Rayette and Rilling permanent waves. A complete line of Revlon cosmetics is used and sold.

Miss Henry and Mrs. Anness opened their beauty parlor last August, after working together for ten years in other beauty parlors in this city. Their shop is located on East Poplar street.

Mrs. Anness, wife of Buddy Anness, is a native of this county. She is the former Miss Valoise Terhune and a graduate of Harrodsburg high school. After graduation, she attended the Rich-Lee Beauty School at Lexington, then returned to this city to take a position with a local beauty salon. She is a member of the Harrodsburg Christian Church and has two sons.

Miss Henry is also a native Mercer countian. She graduated from Rose Hill high school and worked at the Goodall Palm Beach factory at Danville for two years before attending Crutcher’s Beauty School at Lexington. After finishing school, she was employed as a beauty parlor operator in this city. She is a member of St. Andrew’s Catholic Church.

Article No. 71 is missing
See note on unnumbered article (April 25, 1953?) about Graves Jewelry.

Tom Barnett Carey Manges Cardinal Theatre Service (Tom Barnett Carey)
Movie goers in 39 eastern Kentucky towns can thank the Cardinal Theatre Service of Harrodsburg for prompt program changes.

Owned by W. S. Gabhart, Jr. and A. R. Milby, and managed by Tom Barnett Carey, the Cardinal Theatre Service provides a pick-up and delivery service of film and advertising material to 42 theatres. The film is picked up in Cincinnati, Ohio three times each week and distributed to theaters. Film that has been used by the movie houses is picked up for return to Cincinnati when the new flickers are delivered.

Carey has been with the service for over a year, and says the firm has never missed delivering film for a show during that time. A fleet of three trucks is used in the operation of the business. Drivers are Condit Bonta, Carl (Dunk) Bottoms, and Allan Peavler. Bottoms recently moved to this city from Mackville.

Tom Barnett Carey is a native of Washington County. He graduated from Springfield high school, and during World War II served five years in the army. He left in 1940 with the Springfield National Guard unit (the 106th Anti-Aircraft Bn.) and was discharged in June, 1945. He was overseas four years, seeing action in North Africa, Sicily, and Italy.

After separation from the service, Carey was employed for 18 months by the Shell Oil distributors are Springfield. He resides at the Park View Guest House.

Bisset & Cummins Take Over Coleman Feed Store in City (David L. Bisset, W. Earl Cummins)
Bisset & Cummins, a new firm name in this city, are operators of a business that has been known to Mercer County farmers for nearly a quarter of a century. David L. Bisset and W. Earl Cummins took possession January 1 of a feed store on Factory street that was formerly owned by Clell Coleman & Sons, and are offering to the farmers of this area a complete line of feeds, field seeds, fertilizers, agricultural chemicals, insecticides, and herbicides. Bisset & Cummins Farm Supplies is the full firm name.

Bisset & Cummins handle Purina Chows, and maintain a delivery service to better serve their customers. The management of this organization is in the hands of men who are interested in the growth and expansion of the community, and who know and understand many of the problems confronting farmers.

David L. Bisset was born in Mercer County and graduated from Harrodsburg high school. Later, he graduated from Centre College, receiving a BS degree in Economics and, following graduation from Centre, attended the University of Kentucky Law School for two years. He has been actively engaged in farming, and during World War II served 39 months in the U. S. Army. He saw action in the European Theater of Operations.

Bisset married the former Miss Rose Burke, Paris, Ky., is a VFW member, a member of the local Junior Chamber of Commerce, and a member of the Presbyterian church. The Bissets have two sons.

W. Earl Cummins is also a native Mercer countian. He graduated from McAfee high school and went into the U. S. Army Air Force in 1940. Cummins saw action in the European Theater of Operations. He flew a transport plane and took part in seven invasions. Following his discharge in 1946, he went into the garage and machine shop business in this city, and later opened the McAfee Airport to act as flying instructor under the GI Training program.

In recent years, Cummins has offered an airplane crop spraying service to farmers of this area. This service will be continued in connection with the retail of farm supplies.

Cummins is a Mason, Rotarian, Junior Chamber of Commerce member, and a member of the Presbyterian church. He married the former Miss Betty Peterson of Grand Forks, N. D. They have two sons and a daughter.

John G. Davis Has Been in the Telephone Business Since 1912 (John G. Davis)
John G. Davis, who supervises installation and maintenance of telephones for the Southern Bell Telephone and Telegraph Company in this city, started telephone work at Greenville, Ind. back in 1912.

A native of Greenville, he graduated from school there, then started his telephone career as a lineman. In 1913, he married Miss Jacie Krausgrille of Corydon, Ind. and took a position at Campbellsburg, Ky. as a prorate manager for Southern Bell in that city. After working in a number of Kentucky towns, he came to Harrodsburg in Nov., 1941 from the Owensboro District. He lived at Cloverport and worked in that area for 23 years before coming to this city.

While at Cloverport, Davis served as a city councilman and a member of the city school board. He is a Mason and a member of the Methodist church. Davis has a son and a daughter working for Southern Bell Telephone and two daughters who are school teachers.

When Davis came to this county in late 1941, there were approximately 780 telephones in the Harrodsburg exchange, with a seven-position switchboard. Today the exchange services 2,136 phones with a 14-position switchboard, and employs 32 people. Exchanges at Burgin, Cornishville, and Salvisa have also expanded.

Davis says he has experienced many improvements and new methods in the telephone business during his more than 40 years of work of that kind.

Jones & Jones Are New Owners of Firestone Store Here (Wallace Jones, Edward "Bud" Jones)
Jones & Jones, Inc., this county’s exclusive Firestone distributor, is owned and operated by Wallace Jones and Edward (Bud) Jones, a father-son combination.

The two former Louisville business men recently purchased the Firestone agency from Carl Sauer and have taken over management of the store on Main and Lexington streets.

Jones & Jones will continue the policies of their predecessor (Sauer Supply Store), and will handle a complete line of Firestone automotive products, including batteries and seat covers. Later, they plan to expand their business by carrying a line of Firestone home appliances such as refrigerators, radios, washers, and electric and gas cooking ranges. Items of houseware, bicycles, bicycle parts, and fishing tackle are also available at the Jones & Jones store.

Wallace Jones was born in Louisville and graduated from Male high school. He worked for the Peaslee-Gaulbert company for a year, was employed by the Monarch Auto company four years, and was engaged in the construction business two years before purchasing the Monarch Brass Works, Louisville in 1926. He also purchased the Louisville Tackle company in 1948, and operated both businesses before coming to Harrodsburg. Jones has three children and is a member of the Baptist church.

Edward (Bud) Jones is also a native of Louisville. He attended the University of Louisville after graduating from Male high school, then went to work for his father at the Monarch Brass Works. He served 16 months in the U. S. Coast Guard during World War II, seeing action in the China-Burma-India theatre of operations.

He formed a business partnership with his father after separation from the armed forces. He is married and a member of the Baptist church.

McClellan Has Been Building This County Up for 28 Years (J. W. McClellan)
Many building projects in this county have been the work of the J. W. McClellan Company. This construction company performs all kinds of general contracting work, right down to every minute detail. No job is too small, none too large to receive prompt attention.

Headed by J. W. (Red) McClellan, the company has erected many beautiful homes in this city. The contracting work of the McClellan company is complete – including wiring, and installation of plumbing and heating. The firm does much remodeling and renovating work, and builds many types of concrete structures. The “upper” dam (a part of the Salt River reservoir) was built by McClellan in 1947, and he has done a lot of commercial building, his latest job being remodeling a garage building on Lexington street for Kroger Company.

J. W. (Red) McClellan is a native of Muhlenberg County. He graduated from Greenville high school and attended the University of Kentucky. In 1925, he came to Mercer County to work on the Dix River Dam building project. He worked as a civil engineer on this project for five years, then joined Clell Coleman & Sons and was in charge of that firm’s general contracting work for three years. He went into business for himself in 1938.

Regular employees are Mrs. McClellan, the former Miss Anne Elizabeth Rives of Lexington, who acts as bookkeeper and secretary, and Loys McClellan, a brother, who is general superintendent. There are times when McClellan has as many as 45 or 50 men employed on various jobs.

McClellan is a registered civil engineer in Kentucky and a charter member of the Kentucky Society of Professional Engineers. He is now serving on a guidance committee of that organization. He is a member of the Baptist church and the Lions club, having held every office in the local club. The McClellans have two sons and a daughter.

Milliners Open Little Hat Shop – (Around the Corner) (Billie Middleton, Margaret Chilton)
Harrodsburg’s newest business is one day old. The Little Hat Shop (Around the Corner) opened for business yesterday morning with the owners, Billie Middleton and Margaret Chilton, in charge.

The Little Hat Shop, located “just around the corner” from Main street on East Poplar, is at the former location of Dr. E. G. Lowrey’s office. A partition in the building was removed to provide ample shopping space, and the interior has been completely redecorated. New flooring, ceiling, and new modern bleached mahogany fixtures have been installed.

The Little Hat Shop is an exclusive millinery and lingerie specialty shop. Nationally known lines of ladies’ and children’s hats, lingerie, hosiery, and costume jewelry are carried in stock.

Miss Billie Middleton is a native of this county. She attended Salvisa high school and for a number of years was employed at the Blue Front Department Store in this city. In 1937, she formed a partnership with Mrs. Anna Lee VanArsdale, and the pair founded the Billie-Ann Shop. She sold her interest in that business in 1946 because of an illness, but later returned to take a position in the store. She is a member of the Baptist church and a past matron of the local Order of the Eastern Star.

Mrs. Chilton is the wife of Kellis Chilton, local contractor. She is also a native of Mercer County, and attended Harrodsburg high school. Mrs. Chilton has had department store experience. She also keeps books for her husband’s business. Mrs. Chilton is a member of the Christian church, a past matron of the local Eastern Star chapter, and a past grand officer of the Kentucky Grand Chapter, Eastern Star. She is active in church work, and has a son who is a student at Eastern State College.

She is the former Miss Margaret Dean.

Campbell Bros. Continue to Build New Homes in This City (Roy M. Campbell, Carl Campbell)
Two brothers, Roy and Carl Campbell, have played an important part in the growth of Harrodsburg during the last ten years. These building contractors have erected a number of modern homes in newly opened additions, constructed new business houses, and built additions to expanding business firms. They have also done building work in Washington, Boyle, Fayette, Anderson, and other Central Kentucky counties.

Campbell Bros. Contractors built 24 new residences in this city last year, which figures out to about one new house for every two weeks. They do contract work and build houses to sell. At present, they are opening a new addition on West Broadway and West Lane streets. Campbell Bros. opened the LaRue Addition, Harrods Court, and have put houses in virtually every section of town. They complete all inside installations and turn the new house over to the owner ready for occupancy.

Campbell Bros. offers their customer (without extra charge) assistance in obtaining home loans.

The Campbell Bros. partnership was formed just after World War II. Both men were born in Washington county and attended school at Mackville. They moved to this city with their parents in the early 1930s and Carl attended Harrodsburg high school.

Roy Campbell started to work as a star route mail carrier, assisting his father, the late Will Campbell. Later, he took a position with the Kroger Company in Louisville, then worked as a carpenter at the U. S. Army Quartermaster Depot in Jeffersonville, Ind. For two years, he was employed as a carpenter by the J. A. Jones Contracting Company, Charlotte, N.C., working on the atomic bomb plant at Oak Ridge, Tenn. During World War II, he served in the U. S. Navy aboard the battleship USS Maryland. He saw action in the Pacific theatre and served for a time in a naval carpenter’s shop on Okinawa Island. He was discharged in May, 1945 and shortly afterward went into the building business here with his brother. He is a member of the Harrodsburg Methodist church, Lions club, American Legion, and is a Mason, and has a son and two daughters.

Carl Campbell began work as a cabinet maker for a concern in Louisville. Later, he worked for a Louisville construction company before taking a job as a carpenter on the Fort Knox rebuilding project. He worked for the du Pont Company on construction jobs at Charlestown, Ind., and was a carpenter foreman for the J. A. Jones Construction Company on the Oak Ridge, Tenn. atomic project. He married the former Miss Ruby Baker of Boyle County. They have a son and a daughter. He is a member of the local Methodist church and is a Mason.

Railway Express Agent Grew Up in Shadow of Express Office (Douglas W. Shoun)
A nation-wide service available to local residents is the Railway Express Agency – a time-honored delivery and hauling business that is almost as old as mail carrying. Douglas W. Shoun is the local Railway Express agent. He took the post here in June, 1950, following the retirement of E. E. Wesley. He had previously worked at the express office here as relief agent.

The Railway Express Agency picks up and delivers items shipped by rail, and operates a coordinated rail and air service to speed up the flow of merchandise. Service is available within the corporate limits of the city, but notices are mailed to county residents having freight or packages at the express office. Roger Nooe is employed at the local office as rate clerk and deliveryman.

Douglas W. Shoun is a native of Somerset. He graduated from Somerset high school and attended Transylvania College, Lexington. Shoun literally grew up in the railway express business. His father has been express agent at Somerset for a number of years, and as a boy young Shoun worked in the office. He took his first job with the company as a clerk-vehicle man at Somerset, just after graduation from high school, but entered the armed forces seven months later.

During World War II, Shoun served with the 65th Infantry Division in Europe. He was awarded the Purple Heart.

Following his separation from the armed forces, he entered Transylvania College and in 1948 married the former Miss Jeanne Resch of Louisville, a registered nurse. They have two daughters and a son.

Shoun is a member of the Harrodsburg Christian church and is secretary-treasurer of the local Lions club.

W. P. Hatchett Has Conducted Auctions in This County 51 Years (W. P. Hatchett)
Few Harrodsburg residents are as widely known as W. P. Hatchett. He has been crying auction sales in Mercer and adjoining counties for the last 51 years and during that time has also been engaged in farming, livestock trading, and the livery stable business.

Although still in the auctioneering business, Hatchett does not solicit work. His services are still available, but only upon request.

W. P. Hatchett is a native of Mackville. He is a graduate of the Mackville high school and completed his education at Centre College, Danville. He taught school for one year in Washington County when the per capita was $2.27 per scholar. “This made my salary about $28.00 per month,” he said.

He learned the livestock trading business from his father and has been active in it since childhood. He has owned a number of farms in this and adjoining counties, but at present has only one farm, located near Burgin.

Hatchett made his first public auction at Mackville in 1902, selling household goods for Mrs. J. L. Brown. He got $2 for the job. Since then, he has conducted thousands of auctions in 12 states. He worked on the Atlanta Auction Market for three seasons, opened up a sale and auction barn at Macon, Ga., and did the auction work at the Mercer County Stockyards for four years. Hatchett says one of the largest livestock sales he ever made was at Tallulah, La. In 1939, when he handled a $100,000 auction. He was in the livery and sale business on Broadway street in this city for five years, and is one of the organizers of the Farmers Tobacco Warehouse. He served as director and vice president of the warehouse for 15 years.

Hatchett came to Harrodsburg in 1917. In 1918 he passed for army service in World War I and was scheduled to be inducted into service on November 12 – the war ended November 11. He married the former Miss Mildred Powell of Mackville. They have three sons and two daughters. He is a Mason.

Everett Hood Entered Grocery Business After Teaching Career (Everett Hood)
At the close of a school day in March, 1942, a Shakertown teacher named Everett Hood brushed the chalk dust off his trousers and stepped behind a grocery store counter. Since that time, he has been applying his readin’, writin’, and ‘rithmetic knowledge to the retail grocery business in two prominent Harrodsburg locations. At present, Hood is manager of Bailey’s Super Market on North Main Street.

Everett Hood is a native of this county and a graduate of Rose Hill high school. He attended Eastern State Teachers College at Richmond, and later received a life certificate to teach school from Morehead State Teachers College, Morehead. He was a teacher in the Mercer County school system for eight years, teaching at various schools in the county during that time.

After completing high school, and at convenient times during the years he was getting his college education, Hood worked as a clerk in local grocery stores. He also picked up grocery store experience at intervals during his school teaching career. In 1942, he accepted a job as manager of Frank’s grocery store on West Lexington street, a job he held for ten years. He took his present position at Bailey’s in January, 1952.

Hood married the former Miss Dorothy Buchanan, a graduate of Harrodsburg high school. Mrs. Hood was born in Boyle County and attended elementary school in Danville before moving to this county. They have two sons.

Because of his constant contact with the public – as a teacher, merchant, and life-long citizen of this area – Everett Hood is known throughout the county. He is a member of the Harrodsburg Baptist church, a Mason, and a former member of the board of directors of the local Lions club.

Curtis Votaw is in Business Well-Known to Local Farmers (Curtis J. Votaw)
Curtis Votaw’s line of business needs no introduction to most Herald readers. He is a local agent for the Kentucky Farm Mutual Insurance Company, a concern that has given service to farmers in this area for a long period of time.

Votaw writes and services insurance policies at the Farm Bureau office on East Poplar street. He has been the Mercer County Farm Bureau agent for the last three years. Farm Bureau insurance is available to all Farm Bureau members having a farming interest, and covers property insurance, Blue Cross-Blue Shield, automobile, farmers’ liability, polio, hail and crop insurance, and life insurance. The company gives efficient service on claims and charges reasonable rates.

Curtis J. Votaw was born in Washington County, but moved to this county at an early age. He graduated from Cornishville high school and attended Centre College. He operated a grocery store in Cornishville for two years, and served approximately two and one-half years in the U. S. Navy, most of that time in the Pacific Theater of Operations. Before taking his present position, he was employed in a factory in Illinois. Votaw, unmarried, is a member of the Cornishville Christian church and is a Mason.

Strong Liking for Harrodsburg Lands Palmer in Business Here (James Palmer)
James Palmer is in business in Harrodsburg because he likes to live here. So are a lot of other people, bur few of them have left relatives, life-long friends, and their home town in order to hang out a shingle in Harrodsburg, Ky.

Palmer, who opened the Studio of James Palmer on East Lexington street last January 15, took a liking to Harrodsburg and surrounding area while stationed at Darnall Hospital during World War II. After his discharge, he returned to his home at Chillicothe, Ohio, but a few months later came back to the Bluegrass country.

Palmer graduated from Chillicothe (Ohio) high school, then went to work for an automobile concern. While in the automobile business, he learned the General Motors system of accounting and continued this line of business while in the armed forces, serving as chief clerk in the finance department at Darnall. He came to Harrodsburg in March, 1947, taking a position with the Ford garage.

In August, 1950, Palmer went to Santa Barbara, Calif. To study photography. He graduated from the Brooks Institute of Photography in 1952 then returned to this city to map plans for his studio.

The Studio of James Palmer is housed in a remodeled structure opposite the post office, and is furnished with modern equipment. The studio lights are designed for customer comfort by eliminating heat. Palmer does general photography, specializing in portrait work. He makes call to do home portraits, and sells picture frames of all kinds. He plans to handle cameras and film supplies in the near future.

Palmer, unmarried, is a member of St. Andrew’s Catholic church. He is a member of the following: Kentucky State Professional Photographers Association, Photographic Society of America, and Photographers Association of America.

Youngster Starts Career in a New Field - Television (Edward W. Davenport)
A young man engaged in a comparatively new field went into business for himself recently. Edward W. Davenport, son of Mr. and Mrs. Edward B. Davenport, is owner and operator of Davenport’s Radio & Television Shop located on Lifsey avenue, the same shop his father has operated as a side line business since 1929. Young Davenport has brought the business his father formerly carried on as a hobby up to date by adding new precision instruments for checking and testing, and specializing in television repair. He carries a complete line of tubes, radio and television parts, and is the Dumont television dealer for Mercer County.

Davenport’s Radio & Television Shop operates on the theory that in any business transaction the foremost thought in mind should be good service and customer satisfaction.

Edward Davenport, single, graduated from Harrodsburg high school in 1951 and a few months later entered the Louisville Radio, Television, and Electronic School. He graduated from this institution last month. While attending the school, he was affiliated with Dumont Laboratories for further study. He is a member of the Harrodsburg Methodist church.

Armstrong’s Studio Has Been in Operation for 16 Years (Andrew Armstrong)
The art or process of making pictures by the action of light on plates or films coated with certain chemicals is known as photography. That is the business Andrew V. Armstrong has been engaged in since 1937.

Armstrong, owner and operator of Armstrong’s Studio located on East Poplar street, started in the picture making business here at a time when Harrodsburg had no picture studio. Customers come from parts of Washington County and surrounding counties as well as Mercer County.

“We don’t specialize in any one field, we undertake most anything,” Armstrong said in pointing out that his work covers virtually every phase of general photography. The portraiture work includes both children and adults, social events, and school annuals. Commercial work takes in legal photography, copies, and shooting pictures for newspapers.

A photo finishing service is available at Armstrong’s Studio and picture frames are sold.

Andrew (Andy) Armstrong was born in Harrodsburg and graduated from Harrodsburg high school. In 1933, he received a B.S. degree in Fine Arts from Peabody College, Nashville, Tenn. He has always been interested in pictures, and before settling down to the camera and dark room routine did drawings pen and ink, pencil, and water colors. Although he never pursued this occupation long enough to reap any great benefits, the training received has been helpful in the allied field of photography.

After finishing high school, Armstrong took a job in this city with Caleb Brown. He transported new automobiles from factories in the North to dealers in the Mid-West. He worked as a cabinet maker for a few months, then did some farming on his father’s farm. He entered photography in 1937 after taking a course at New York Institute of Photography, New York City. Later he received additional training at the Winona Institute of Photography, Winona, Ind.

During World War II, Armstrong served three years in the armed forces. He did photographic work in the Air Force. His pet hobby is rounding up enough singers for a male quartet, then letting go with the tenor.

Mrs. Armstrong, the former Miss Kathleen Pinkston of this county, aids in the studio by helping with bookkeeping and doing picture tinting. They have a daughter, Anna. The Armstrongs are members of the Harrodsburg Christian church.

Real Estate Has Been Life-Long Business of G. L. Semonis (G. L. Semonis)
Just about every hoss swapper in Central Kentucky knows Less Semonis. He has been dealing in livestock and real estate in Mercer and Boyle counties for more than half a century.

At present, Semonis is associated with the E. B. VanArsdale Realty Co., located on Short Street. He has been with this firm for the last two years, appraising property and conducting private real estate sales and public auctions.

Semonis confines most of his present-day business activities to real estate. He also owns and operates a farm on the Perryville road. In past years he has owned a number of farms in this county, buying most of them for the purpose of sale or trade.

G. L. Semonis was born in the Nevada section of this county. While in his middle thirties, he moved to Boyle County and lived there approximately thirty years, however, the livestock trading business kept him in constant contact with Mercer County residents during that period. He returned to this county in 1947.

Semonis says he has been trading livestock ever since he was “big enough to talk a deal.” He has handled more sheep trades than any other, but recalls selling sleek, healthy, 200-pound hogs for as low as $2.80 per hundred.

He married the former Miss Henry Esther Gray, also a native of this county.

They have three children, a daughter in Norwood, Ohio, a son in Louisville, and a daughter in Danville. Semonis has been a member of the Bethel Cumberland Presbyterian church, located on U. S. 68 near Nevada, for more than 55 years.

Demarees Are Partners in the Operation of Rooming House (Mr. & Mrs. Clyde Demaree)
In any business transaction, the foremost thought in mind of the customer is satisfaction, service, and value. Mr. and Mrs. Clyde Demaree, owners and operators of Demaree’s Rooming House, realize this and make it a point to meet these requirements. The Demarees also realize the importance of maintaining an atmosphere of friendliness at their place of business and never fail to show appreciation of patronage.

Mr. and Mrs. Demaree have been business partners all their married life. Before taking over their present business in 1946, they operated a restaurant on East Lexington street for five years, and before that were engaged in farming. However, most of the rooming house management is done by Mrs. Demaree and her maid, Mrs. Cordia Robinson.

Demaree is local agent for a monument company and serves the Harrodsburg post office as a substitute rural mail carrier. He has had the postal position for the last 13 years. After attending school at Kentucky Wesleyan, Winchester, he farmed in the Fairview community for a few years, and before going into the restaurant business was employed by the Harrodsburg Ice & Produce Company for approximately 12 years.

When the Demarees took over at their present location on Main Street, they served meals for more than a year in connection with the rooming house business. The 40-room house (counting the halls and bath rooms) has been serving the community as a hostelry for a number of years.

Mrs. Demaree is the former Miss Elsie Burrus. Both are natives of this county and members of the Harrodsburg Baptist church. They have two daughters and a son.

James L. Tewmey in on Ground Floor of TV Repair Work (James L. Tewmey)
James L. Tewmey is the television repair man at the J. Garnett Tewmey Radio & Television Service store on West Office street. He began his study of the ether waves (that medium assumed to fill all space, through which the rays of light and heat are transmitted) in his father’s shop while still attending high school. His training in radio repair paved the way for the work he is now doing in a field that is booming with business, yet possibly has better days to come.

Tewmey says there have been many big changes in television since it came into commercial use a few years ago. He said the biggest changes have occurred in the TV stations, not in the manufacturing of the sets. The stations are using altogether different equipment today than when they went on the air, he said.

Tewmey was born in this city and graduated from Harrodsburg high school.

He has served in the U. S. Navy at two different times, seeing service overseas with the Naval Air Transport. He married the former Miss Flona Kerr of Williamsburg and is a member of the Harrodsburg Christian church.

Mercer Stone Co. is Source of Most Rock Materials Used Here (Elwood Burgin)
A number of road building and other construction projects in this county have sprung from the Mercer Stone Company quarry on the Burgin road.

Owner and operator of the Mercer Stone Company is Elwood Burgin, and since founding the business in 1940 he has sold a large percent of the products in his line of business used in this county. The quarry reached an all-time peak on April 29 when 1,600 tons of crushed stone were produced in a single day.

The Mercer Stone Company crushes rock for highway construction, concrete work, driveways, and for mixing rock asphalt. A portion of the output is agricultural limestone, and farmers who have used the product over a period of years will strongly attest to its value in the treatment of the soil. Burgin also does private road work and basement and pond digging.

He says there is an unlimited amount of limestone rock beneath the property he owns, and when stripping is completed at the present location, the quarry will cover approximately eight acres. Froom 18 to 20 men are permanently employed at the quarry and a total of 12 trucks are operated. At times it is necessary to hire additional trucks to make deliveries.

Employees at the stone company are Lambert Dossett, equipment operator; Dorsey Bradford, mechanic; Bill Sewell, shovel operator; Glendon Sanders, bookkeeper; Bobby Davenport, assistant bookkeeper and lime spreader; Preston Burgin and Bobby Webb, bulldozer operators; George A. Devine, crusher feeder; and Lee Lyons, stock piler.

Elwood Burgin is a native of Anderson County and a graduate of Kavanaugh high school. His first job after completing school was as a construction worker on the Tyrone bridge. He came to this county in 1934 and operated a service station before going into the stone crushing business with a portable outfit. He is a member of the Harrodsburg Baptist church and married the former Miss Elizabeth Dennis of this county. The Burgins have one son.

Bollinger Became Newberry Manager in Less Than 3 Years (J. R. "Bob" Bollinger)
J. R. (Bob) Bollinger, manager of the J. J. Newberry Company chain store in this city, started to work for the Newberry people at Long Beach, Calif. In 1947. He began as a stock clerk and two years later had worked up to assistant manager. He came to Harrodsburg as manager of his company’s store here in October, 1950.br />
Full-time personnel of Newberry’s variety store on Main Street are: Mrs. Alma Randolph, Miss Ruby Flowers, Miss Wanda Logue, Miss Rebecca Logue, Mrs. Loretta Selby, Miss Jewell Kinder, Miss Dora Sims, Mrs. Eliene Harlow, Mrs. Alma Warner, Mrs. Ollie Nichols, Miss Joan Warner, and Miss Nina Nichols, salesgirls; Mrs. Virginia Nichols, cashier; and Bobby Cloyd and David Wampler, part-time employees.br />
Bollinger is a native of Seymour, Missouri, and a graduate of Seymour high school. He entered the army in 1943 and after receiving basic training in Texas, was sent overseas with the 106th Infantry Division. In the ETO he was captured by the Germans in the Battle of the Bulge (Dec. 1944) and was released in April, 1945. After being separated from the army, Bollinger returned to Missouri and attended Missouri State Teachers College at Springfield. He married Miss Ferrol Scott of Nianguia, Mo., and they moved to California, where he became associated with Newberry stores. Later he was transferred to Tulsa, Okla., then to this city.br />
The Bollingers have a daughter and are members of the Harrodsburg Methodist church. He is a Rotarian and a member of the local chamber of commerce retail merchants committee.

Jane Bertram Beauty Shop in New Location After 18 Years (Mrs. Jane Bertram)
Modern ideas and a scientifically equipped establishment to give the best in beauty culture is what makes the Jane Bertram Beauty Shop popular with women of this community.

The owner, Mrs. Jane Bertram, is experienced in all kinds of beauty work. She gives facials, manicures, haircuts, and all types of permanent waves. Mrs. Bertram is a graduate of Helm’s School of Beauty Culture and keeps abreast of modern styles by frequently taking special courses. She recently finished a special course in hair cutting and styling.

Mrs. Jane Bertram, now operating in a new location, has been in business in this city since 1934. At present, her shop is over the Harrod Theatre in newly decorated quarters.

Mrs. Bertram, a native of Greensburg, Kansas, came to this county with her parents when she was a child. She finished school at Harrodsburg Academy and a short time thereafter married E. A. Bertram in Kansas City. She lived in Lexington before returning to this city in 1934. Her husband died in 1931.

For eight years, Mrs. Bertram operated a Ladies’ Wear Shop in connection with her beauty shop, but in 1942 sold the store to devote full time to beauty parlor work.

Mrs. Bertram has a son and a daughter. A son died at the age of 21. She is a member of the United Presbyterian church in this city and is active in church work.

Carr’s Service Open to Public Around the Clock – Never Closes (Charles W. Carr)
Charles W. Carr, owner and operator of Carr’s Service Station on North College street, makes a determined effort to give each patron just what he wants, just how he wants it. This constant effort to give a very personal service to patrons has resulted in an ever-increasing patronage.

Carr’s Service, open 24 hours a day, offers restaurant curb service and complete filling station service. In the restaurant department, sandwiches and short orders are available, as well as ice cream, soft drinks, and malts. In addition to the regular lubricating, greasing, and washing service available in the service station department, Carr’s Service carries a line of Goodyear tires, Auto-Lite batteries, and other automobile accessories.

Charles W. Carr is a native of this city and a graduate of Harrodsburg high school. Following his graduation, he was employed as a brakeman by Southern Railway for one year, then was an insurance salesman until purchasing his present business in 1949. He married the former Imogene Lay of this city. They have two daughters. Carr is a member of the Harrodsburg Baptist church and the local Junior Chamber of Commerce. During the burley tobacco selling season he is associated with Lay’s Tobacco Warehouse.

Employees at Carr’s Service are Ralph Dean and Dan Watts, service station attendants; and Mrs. Arthur Harmon, Mrs. John Preston, Miss Bessie Cooper, Miss Juanita Keeling, Miss Beatrice Cross, and J. T. Logue.

Mooreland Point Service Station Was Built When Autos Were Few (J. T. Noel)
It is doubtful is there is a filling station more widely-known in Mercer County than the Mooreland Point Service Station. This little firm has stood at the junction of the Mackville and Perryville roads (the Y formed by US Highway 68 and Ky. 152) since many local residents can remember. It was erected when the automobile industry was very, very young.

Mooreland Point Service Station is owned and operated by J. T. Noel, who purchased if from Jack Graves in January, 1952. The station is favorably known to car and truck owners of this section and handles Aetna gasoline and Pennzoil motor oil. Noel is also a dealer for Kelly Springfield tires, Auto-Lite batteries, and sells other auto accessories, soft drinks, candies, cigarettes, and products well-known to the motoring public. Service also includes greasing and lubrication.

Those aiding Noel in the operation of his business, some on a part-time basis, are Willie D. Devine, Carl Devine, and Lloyd Noel.

J. T. Noel was born in Mercer County and attended schools of the county school system. He was engaged in farming in the southwest section of the county before joining the armed forces during World War II. He saw action in the European Theatre of Operations with the 208th Engineer Battalion.

After his separation from the armed forces, Noel returned to this county and for five and one-half years was employed in the body shop of the Ingram Buick Company. He worked for a year in the body shop of the Riley & Hankla garage before going into business for himself.

Noel is a member of the Benton Baptist church. He married the former Louda Kirkland, also a native of this county. They have one son.

Maurice McCoun Operates Service Station on Beaumont (Maurice McCoun)
The Standard filling station on Beaumont Avenue has always rated a high preference with the motoring public. It is backed by a reputation proving that first class service is the aim of the owner.

Maurice McCoun owns and operates the business known as McCoun’s Service Station. He performs all types of filling station service, including car washing, greasing, lubrication, tire changing, and sells Atlas tires, batteries, and other auto accessories.

James Ralph Davis aids McCoun in the operation of the station and the small grocery business he operates in connection with it. Candies, cigarettes, soft drinks, and ice cream are also sold.

McCoun was born in Fayette County, but his parents moved to this county before his first birthday. He attended Harrodsburg high school and took his first job as filling station attendant at the place he now owns. For two years, he owned and operated a station at Beaumont Avenue and Bellows Mill Pike. He purchased his present business in 1949.

McCoun married the former Valletta Myers of Cincinnati and the couple have a son. He is a member of the Harrodsburg Christian church.

Dearinger & Butler Operate Barber Shop on Lexington St. (David Dearinger, Elwood Butler)
Two new names on the front of a barber shop formerly owned by Ernest Wilham are well-known to Mercer County residents, and the faces of the new owners behind the barber chairs have been on the Harrodsburg scene for a number of years.

David Dearinger and Elwood Butler bought Wilham’s interest in the shop some weeks ago. They have retained the services of Carl Durbin, and employee at the shop for the last five years and barber with 17 years’ experience. Dearinger’s son, James Dearinger, helps out on Saturdays. The only other employee is Sherman Tyler (colored), shoe shine boy.

The Dearinger & Butler Barber Shop features the usual line of barber shop work – hair cutting, shaving, shampooing, and giving singes and massage treatments.

David Dearinger, a Mercer County native, has been cutting hair ever since he was knee-high to a barber’s chair, but along the line took time out to work for a natural gas company in Lexington for two years, do a bit of farming, and put in a couple of years at the Big Four Railroad Shop in Beech Grove, Ind.

Dearinger attended school in the Mercer County system, served with a Field Artillery unit during World War I, and married Staddie Springate of Anderson County. They have three sons and a daughter. He is a member of the Hopewell Baptist church. His barbering work has been in this city, Latonia, Salvisa, and Willisburg. He first started in Harrodsburg by opening his own shop in December, 1928. He later sold the business to Butler & Smith.

Elwood Butler was born in this county and attended Harrodsburg high school. He has done all his barbering work in this city, beginning at an early age in the shop of his father, Arch Butler. Butler’s years of service add up to more than 20.

During World War II he served in the Kentucky State Guard and at present is president of the local high school Band Parents Club. He is active in civic work, having recently acted as a member of the Citizens’ Advisory Committee on Education. Butler married Hazel Wilder of Wilmore. They have a son and a daughter. He is a member of the Harrodsburg Christian church.

Parsons & Roberts, Builders, Formed Partnership in 1947 (Buford Parson, Lee Roberts)
Parsons & Roberts are builders that can be depended upon for reliable and competent work. They have been erecting homes and commercial buildings in this area since December 1947, and before that time each man had gained wide experience in the field of carpentry.

Parsons & Roberts do a complete job of putting up a building. They make all electrical, plumbing, and heating installations. Their headquarters is located on Park View at East Office street.

At times, as many as 25 or 30 men are employed on various building jobs for the firm, but regular employees are Brack Collier, Harry Davis, Lewis Lankford, Floyd Robinson, Jimmy Phillips, Haldon Goodlett, and Everett Taylor.

Buford Parsons was born in this county and graduated from Fairview high school. He has spent all his life as a carpenter, except for a few months as a clerk in a grocery store after finishing school. During World War II, he worked on government defense construction which included work on the Avon installation at Lexington and Darnall Hospital near Danville.

Parsons married Margaret Terhune of this county. They have a daughter. He is a member of the Hopewell Baptist church.

Parsons’ uncle, Walter Parsons, now deceased, was a contractor in this county for a number of years, and his father, J. W. Parsons of this city, has been a carpenter all his life.

Lee Roberts was born in Lincoln County, but his parents moved to this county when he was one year old. He attended school in this county until the age of nine, at which time the Roberts family moved to Springfield, Mo. Five years later, they returned to this county and Roberts engaged in farming until taking up the carpenter’s trade in 1937. He worked in this county for a couple of years, then in 1939 took a job at Louisville with the Whittenberg Construction Company. Later he worked for the du Pont Company on construction jobs in Charlestown, Ind. and Birmingham, Ala.

During World War II he served in the U. S. Navy, returned to this city after his discharge in 1945, and operated a used car business for 15 months, then worked six months on a construction job at Wilmore for the M. Shapiro Construction Company of New York. Roberts married May Parsons (a sister of his business partner), is a member of the Harrodsburg Methodist church, and a member of the local American Legion post.

John W. Landrum is Owner of the Coakley Insurance Agency (John W. Landrum)
In this day of high-priced farm machinery, household goods, crops, and just about everything a citizen owns, it pays to have property well covered with insurance. The Coakley Insurance Agency on West Poplar street has won the confidence of area residents by fairness of dealings and willingness to help patrons work out their insurance problems.

The owner and operator of the Coakley Insurance Agency is John W. Landrum, who came to this city in Sept. 1952, as a part owner of the business. The firm sells general insurance, including fire, auto, tobacco, and compensation. It represents the Continental Insurance Company of Chicago, the State Auto Mutual, and Grain Dealers Mutual Insurance. Miss Winifred Burgess aids in the operation of the business.

John W. Landrum was born at London in Laurel County. Later he moved to Harlan and graduated from high school there. He attended Centre College at Danville and graduated from the University of Miami at Miami, Fla.

Landrum’s first business venture was at Harlan, where he went into the coal business. Before coming to Harrodsburg, he was in the wholesale automobile business. During World War II, he was a flying instructor in the Army Air Force. Landrum owns a four-place Stinson plane and uses it in present business operations.

He is a member of the local Junior Chamber of Commerce organization, and both he and Mrs. Landrum are members of the Harrodsburg Methodist church. She is the former Vivian Van Bever of Pineville. Mrs. Landrum was a school teacher at Harlan before moving to this city, and has taught at Harrodsburg high school as a substitute teacher.

(Collected by Pat Shewmaker Rockas, Transcribed by Nancy Hill, 2001)